University of Delhi, India

The University of Delhi is the largest university in India with nearly 150,000 students and about 7,000 teachers. There are 78 colleges largely for undergraduate students and 84 departments mostly for postgraduate students, and the colleges, including those that are engaged in professional courses, are spread across the city.

The university departments are in the two campuses: north and south. The main (north) campus with its forty postgraduate departments concentrates on basic disciplines such as arts, sciences, social sciences, mathematical sciences and others like law, music, education, languages, management, and distance education. The south campus is organised into nine departments that offer teaching and research programmes with an inter-disciplinary and applied orientation in areas such as biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, electronic sciences, financial and public systems management, genetics, information technology and plant molecular biology.

Network partner

The University of Delhi and the University of Glasgow are both members of the U21 network.