North West University (Mafikeng), South Africa

The North-West University is a merged institution established in January 2004. Along with the Mahikeng campus, it has two other campuses at Potchefstroom and Vanderbijlpark, South Africa. With a population of 64, 081 students, the North-West University has become one of the largest in South Africa.

Mafikeng is the capital city of the North-West Province of South Africa. It has a rich history and culture and there are various visitor attractions including the Botsalano Game Reserve.

Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility Programme Partner

The North-West University, Mahikeng is an Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility Programme Partner. The Erasmus+ programme now offers mobility worldwide, all participants receive a travel and subsistence allowance.

ICM funding and application

Any questions contact

Available Subject Areas

Please ensure that you research the courses available to you as an exchange student, and check with your subject coordinator(s) that these courses are suitable for your Glasgow degree programme. Please note that partner course offerings may change on a yearly basis.

Please research course level; content and assessment structures; partner academic pre-requisites for exchange students; whether enough courses / credits are available in your degree subject(s) to meet your Glasgow degree credit requirements; language of teaching and for Joint Honours students, whether the partner has any restrictions on taking courses from different Schools/Faculties.

  • MVLS (research)

Travel and costs