University of Rwanda

The University of Rwanda is an institution formed in 2013 through the merger of a number of previously independent Rwandan higher education institutions and has six independent colleges at the moment, with the main offices in Kigali. Many of the university's senior managers are well-established scholars, but that many of them "are also well known elite Rwandans or dedicated friends of Rwanda. The university’s aim is to be a leading University that develops highly enterprising graduates prepared and dedicated to building a more just and sustainable society locally, nationally and globally. 

ARUA network 

The African Research Universities Alliance (ARUA) is a network of universities that aims to enhance the quality of research done in Africa by African researchers. The University of Glasgow enjoys a close relationship with the ARUA network. Capacity strengthening in Africa is an issue that the University is keenly invested in, and in 2020 we hosted a symposium on capacity strengthening in Africa and signed a Memorandum of Understanding with ARUA.

Through our membership of the Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities (the Guild), Glasgow has also been in a strong position to influence a joint publication by both networks on a new approach to strengthening Africa’s research, innovation and higher education capacity.