Emerging Asia Award

Emerging Asia Award

The University of Glasgow is proud to introduce an exciting new award designed to support students from a selection of underrepresented 'frontier and developing' Asian countries . 

The University of Glasgow is offering 8 scholarships for highly qualified international students from Bangladesh, Cambodia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Students must be starting a one-year postgraduate taught masters programme, in any discipline, for the academic session 2024/25. The scholarship is a full tuition fee waiver with stipend for one year that can not be combined with any other scholarships. 

To be eligible, applicants must:

  • Demonstrate academic excellence and achieve grades equivalent to a UK 1st  Class Honours; 
  • Hold an offer of a place for a postgraduate taught one year Masters programme for September 2024 intake (offer is not needed to apply but applicants will require an offer to be considered for interview, and should take programme application timelines into consideration as detailed on programme webpages); 
  • Have International fee status;
  • Be a national from Bangladesh, Cambodia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Nepal and Sri Lanka;
  • Be able to demonstrate a clear career and/or development plan that will be supported by Masters level study (via application form);
  • Be able to provide evidence of meeting the UKVI maintenance/ living costs by 30th of June 2024 (only required if offered scholarship following a successful interview)

Number of Scholarships


Eligible countries/regions

  • Bangladesh
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Sri Lanka

Eligible programmes


Full tuition fee waiver plus £13,000 one-year stipend

How to apply

This scholarship is now closed. 

Applicants shortlisted for interviews will be contacted by 31st May 2024.