Contact us


Head of Subject

Dr Matt Dawson

Subject Support

Olive Bredin

Level 1

Convenor: Dr Teresa Piacentini
Olive Bredin

Level 2

Convenor: Dr Diego Maria Malara
Clare Robertson


Convenor: Dr Francesca Stella
Dissertation Convenor: Dr Nicky Burns
Assessment Officer: Dr Oona Brooks-Hay

General Paper Convenor: Professor Gerda Reith

Administrator : Lesley Scott

Postgraduate Taught

Sociology MSc and MRes Programme Convenor: Dr Greti-Iulia Ivana

Equality & Human Rights MSc and MRes Programme Convenor: Dr Dominic Pasura

Criminology PGT Programmes Convenor: Dr Julie Berg
Media, Communications & International 
Journalism Programme Convenor: Dr Catherine Happer

Global Health MSc Convenor:  Dr Cindy Gray

Global Migrations & Social 
Justice Convenor: Dr Teresa Piacentini
Sociology Dissertations Convenor: Dr Greti-Iulia Ivana 

PGT Administrator: Liz Gray

email enquiries:

Postgraduate Research

PGR Convening Team:

Sociology: Dr Gareth Mulvey / Dr Lucy Pickering
Dr Marguerite Schinkel / Professor Fergus McNeill
Jennifer McLaren PGR Administrator 



Dr Cindy Gray

Research Champion

Subject Research Convenor: Professor Satnam Virdee

Head of REF Planning Group: Professor Michele Burman

Subject Impact Champion:    Professor Fergus MacNeill

Frisby Lecture Convenor

Dr Andrew Smith / Dr Sarah Armstrong

ESRC Pathway Representatives

Sociology: Dr Lucy Pickering

Socio-Legal Studies & Criminology: Professor Fergus McNeill

Families, Relationships & Demographic Change: Professor Nicholas Watson

Seminar Series Convenor

Dr Alicia Davis

Sociology Events & Seminars

Staff/Student Committee Chair

Course Convenors

Open Day Convenor

Dr Diego Malara

Library Committee Representative


School Learning and Teaching Committee Representative

Dr Hayes Mabweazara

Sociology Learning & Teaching Group Convenor

Dr Lucy Pickering


Research Centre / Network Directors

Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research: Dr Sarah Armstrong

Strathclyde Centre for Disability Research Professor Nicholas Watson

Centre for Research on Racism, Ethnicity and Nationalism: Professor Satnam Virdee

Glasgow Media Group: Professor Gregory Philo

Gambling Research Group: Professor Gerda Reith

Glasgow Human Rights Network: Dr Matthew Waites

Glasgow Refugee, Migration and Asylum Network: Dr Teresa Piacentini

Glasgow Quantitative Methods Group: Professor Mark Tranmer

Digital Societies Research Group: Professor Bridgette Wessels

Glasgow Sociology website & Twitter Feed

Dr Minna Liinpaa