The William Crookes Prize

The prize winner for 2018 is Deborah O'Connell, University of York

The International Scientific Committee (ISC) of ESCAMPIG is seeking nominations for the William Crookes Prize to be awarded to a mid-career researcher who has been judged to have made major contributions in one or more scientific topics covered by the ESCAMPIG. Mid-career is here defined as between about 10 and 20 years after PhD or the equivalent qualification. The prize is co-sponsored by the European Physical Society and Institute of Physics Publishing through Plasma Sources Science and Technology (PSST).

The award will be 1,000 euros and a diploma along with hotel accommodation and waived fees to attend the ESCAMPIG at which the award will be presented.

The selection panel will consist of the previous winner, the Chair of the ESCAMPIG ISC and two other members the ISC. The two members will be selected by the ISC after the nominations have been received to ensure that they have no direct connection with any of the nominees.

The nominator should assemble a nomination package which comprises the year of the nominee’s PhD thesis, a list of references to no more than five of the nominee's most significant papers and an account of the nominee's contributions to one or more of the scientific topics covered by the ESCAMPIG. It should be sent to the Chair of the ISC Carlos Pintassilgo by email to by February 28, 2018. Four seconders, at least two of whom are from a different country than the nominee must send a confirmation email of their support for the nomination, also to be received before the closing date.

Serving members of the ESCAMPIG ISC are not eligible for nomination.
Direct applications are not accepted.

Former winners:
Vasco Guerra (ESCAMPIG Bratislava 2016), for his his outstanding contribution to the modeling of molecular low-temperature plasmas including the strong coupling between electron and vibrational kinetics, together with chemical and ion kinetics.
Pascal Chabert (ESCAMPIG Greifswald 2014), for his major contributions on the modeling of capacitively and inductively coupled plasmas.
Antoine Rousseau (ESCAMPIG Viana do Castelo 2012), for his major contributions on the coupling plasma-catalysis and its application to air treatment.
Zoltan Donko (ESCAMPIG Novi Sad 2010), for his major contributions to the understanding of the effect of elementary processes on the properties of gas discharges and strongly coupled plasmas.
Richard van de Sanden (ESCAMPIG Granada 2008), for his major contributions to fundamental studies of expanding plasma jets and their use in plasma enhanced deposition and etching.