Key contacts

International Engagement at Glasgow is led by Rachel Sandison, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement) with support from Assistant Vice-Principal (International) Professor William Cushley, along with colleagues in the International Office, the Deans for Global Engagement and the College International Deans.

Many staff around the University are involved in supporting our international work, including the key contacts listed below.

Deans for Global Engagement

Our Deans for Global Engagement work strategically at regional level to support internationalisation at the University.

The Deans:

  • support Rachel Sandison, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement), External Relations and William Cushley, the Assistant Vice-Principal (International) by acting as a source of expertise in their region’s education sector
  • provide advice and guidance to University of Glasgow staff, relating to government and the Higher Education sector.
Sub-Saharan Africa  Vacancy  
The Americas Professor Penny Morris Penelope.Morris@glasgow.ac.uk 
Europe Professor Lorna Hughes Lorna.Hughes@glasgow.ac.uk 
East Asia and China Professor Konstantinos Kontis Kostas.Kontis@glasgow.ac.uk
Middle East and North Africa Professor Tom Evans Tom.Evans@glasgow.ac.uk 
Central and South Asia  Professor Moyra Boland Moyra.Boland@glasgow.ac.uk
South-east Asia and Australasia Professor Clare McManus Clare.McManus@glasgow.ac.uk 

College International Deans

The role of the Deans is to provide direction and oversight of strategic international activity at College level. The College International Deans are responsible for developing and implementing College International Strategies with the aim of expanding the international reach of the College with respect to student growth and diversity, student outward mobility, international consultancy and strategic research links. 

Arts

Professor Anslem Heinrich

Anselm.Heinrich@glasgow.ac.uk
MVLS

Professor Matthew Walters
(copy in Christine Kerr, PA to Matthew Walters, for meeting requests)   

Professor Christopher Loughrey
(copy in Elaine Gilmour)

Matthew.Walters@glasgow.ac.uk
(PA: Christine.Kerr@glasgow.ac.uk)

Christopher.Loughrey@glasgow.ac.uk
(elaine.gilmour@glasgow.ac.uk)

Science and Engineering

Katherine Henderson

Professor Cristina Persano

(copy in scieng-international@glasgow.ac.uk)

Katherine.Henderson@glasgow.ac.uk

Cristina.Persano@glasgow.ac.uk


scieng-international@glasgow.ac.uk

 Social Sciences Professor Graeme Roy Graeme.Roy@glasgow.ac.uk

 

Recruitment and International Relations

 

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement) Rachel Sandison Rachel.Sandison@glasgow.ac.uk
Director, Recruitment and International Relations (RAIR) Jenny Fernandes jenny.fernandes@glasgow.ac.uk  
Deputy Director, Recruitment and International Relations Caroline Boddie  Caroline.Boddie@glasgow.ac.uk
Head of International Relations Charlotte Kedslie Charlotte.Kedslie@glasgow.ac.uk
Head of International Stakeholder Engagement Shonagh Maak Shonagh.Maak@glasgow.ac.uk
Latin America and Middle East Jo Power - International Regional Manager
Kyle Blain - Senior International Officer for the Middle East
Louise Calderwood - Student Recruitment Coordinator

Jo.Power@glasgow.ac.uk
Kyle.Blain@glasgow.ac.uk
Louise.Calderwood@glasgow.ac.uk

Middle East (in country) Fatema Jainuddin Bellare - International Officer

Fatema.Jainuddin-Bellare@glasgow.ac.uk

Africa Pamela Armstrong - International Recruitment Manager (Africa and GIC)

Louise Calderwood - Student Recruitment Coordinator
Pamela.Armstrong.2@glasgow.ac.uk

Louise.Calderwood@glasgow.ac.uk
West Africa  Chisom Okpala (in-country)  
North America Bill Hoare - International Recruitment Manager (North America)

Bill.Hoare@glasgow.ac.uk 

North America (in-country)  Vacancy - Country manager USA and Canada

Senior International Officers in country:

Kimberly Tyson (SE & central USA)
Vacancy (Midwest USA and Western Canada)
Peter Carlisle (Northeast USA and Eastern Canada)

 


kimberly.tyson@glasgow.ac.uk

Peter.Carlisle@glasgow.ac.uk

Europe & Central Asia Bill Hoare - International Recruitment Manager
Adrienn Hortobagyi - Senior International Officer
Charlie Bowling- International Officer (Europe)
Alice Graham - International Officer (Europe)
William Bamford - Student Recruitment Coordinator
Bill.Hoare@glasgow.ac.uk
Adrienn.Hortobagyi@glasgow.ac.uk
Charlie.Bowling@glasgow.ac.uk
Alice.Graham@glasgow.ac.uk

William.Bamford@glasgow.ac.uk
East Asia Kathryn MacNaughton - International Recruitment Manager
Vacancy -  Student Recruitment Coordinator

Kathryn.MacNaughton@glasgow.ac.uk


China (in-country) 
Claire Liu - Country Manager China (Beijing)

Xinjing YIN [Cynthia] - International Officer (Beijing)
Sichao Yu - International Officer (Shanghai)
Serena Li- - International Officer (Guangzhou)
Claire.Liu@glasgow.ac.uk

xinjing.yin@glasgow.ac.uk
Sichao.Yu@glasgow.ac.uk
Younan.Li@glasgow.ac.uk 
South Asia and South East Asia Shonagh Maak - International Regional Manager 
Vacancy - Senior International Officer
Jennifer Wylie - Student Recruitment Coordinatorr

Shonagh.Maak@glasgow.ac.uk

Jennifer.Wylie@glasgow.ac.uk

South East Asia (in-country)  Sophia Lee - Regional Manager (Singapore)

Lisa Benlizar - Regional Recruitment Officer SE Asia (Singapore)
Vacancy - Regional Recruitment Officer SE Asia
Alfin Firdaus (in-country Indonesia)
Sophia.Lee@glasgow.ac.uk

Lisa.Benlizar@glasgow.ac.uk

Alfin.Firdaus@glasgow.ac.uk
South Asia (in-country)  Sanju Dominic - Regional Manager South Asia (Bangalore)
Khushboo Gera - International Officer India (New Delhi)
Maneeta Sahmey - International Officer India (New Delhi)
Vacancy - International Officer India (New Delhi)
sanju.dominic@glasgow.ac.uk
Khushboo.Gera@glasgow.ac.uk
Maneeta.Sahmey@glasgow.ac.uk

UK-based international students Rhona Gordon rhona.gordon@glasgow.ac.uk  
Exchange Manager Colette McGowan Colette.McGowan@glasgow.ac.uk 
CIVIS Project Manager Celine Reynaud Celine.Reynaud@glasgow.ac.uk
U21 Coordinator   externalrelations-u21network@glasgow.ac.uk

 

Academic Collaborations (part of Academic Policy & Governance)

The role of Academic Collaborations (AC) is to support the development and management of collaborations that involve students studying for an academic award from the University of Glasgow - essentially, this means learning and teaching collaborations (including PGR). These are increasingly in an international context.

The office is home to the University's central Transnational Education (TNE) Team, which provides comprehensive support for the University’s TNE operations.

>> Further information and contacts

Study abroad and mobility

International Exchanges and partnerships manager Colette McGowan Colette.McGowan@glasgow.ac.uk
Head of Global Opportunities Lauren Hoare  Lauren.Hoare@glasgow.ac.uk

Weblinks:

Inbound: study abroad and exchange

Outbound: go abroad 

Research Support and Project Management Office

The University of Glasgow (UoG) is a leader in European Research.