Deans for Global Engagement

International Engagement at Glasgow is led by Rachel Sandison, Vice-Principal, External Relations with support from Assistant Vice-Principal (International) Professor William Cushley.

In addition, Deans for Global Engagement work strategically at regional level to support internationalisation at University of Glasgow. The Deans:

  • support the Vice Principal, External Relations and the Assistant Vice-Principal (International) by acting as a source of expertise in their region’s education sector, and; 
  • provide advice and guidance to University of Glasgow staff, relating to government and the Higher Education sector.

Their role is to establish priorities and facilitate decisions that will enhance and support strategic internationalisation initiatives. Each Dean for Global Engagement is responsible for taking forward a regional strategy for the University - promoting academic business development including:

  • delivery of education;
  • collaborative research;
  • knowledge transfer activities, and;
  • student experience and recruitment.

The Deans manage relationships at all levels internally and externally - building the reputation of the University across their region. They identify, promote and support research by engaging with overseas governments and industry.

They also perform ambassadorial roles - representing the University within the region and to incoming delegations. 

Africa and Middle East - Professor Paul Garside

Professor Paul Garside
Dean for Global Engagement for Africa and the Middle East
+44 (0)141 330 7251
Paul.Garside@glasgow.ac.uk


The Americas - Dr Penny Morris

Dr Penny Morris
Dean for Global Engagement for the Americas
+44 (0)141 330 5223
Penelope.Morris@glasgow.ac.uk


Europe - Professor James Conroy

Professor James Conroy
Dean for Global Engagement for Europe
+44 (0)141 330 7375
James.Conroy@glasgow.ac.uk


China and East Asia - Professor Konstantinos Kontis

Professor Konstantinos Kontis
Dean for Global Engagement for the China and East Asia
+44 (0)141 330 4337
kostas.kontis@glasgow.ac.uk

 


Eurasia and South Asia - Professor Moyra Boland

Professor Moyra Boland
Dean for Global Engagement for Eurasia and South Asia
+44 (0)141 330 3057
Moyra.Boland@glasgow.ac.uk


South-east Asia and Australasia - Professor Clare McManus

Professor Clare McManus
Dean for Global Engagement for South-east Asia and Australasia
+44 (0)141 330 2849
Clare.McManus@glasgow.ac.uk


College International Deans

The role of the Deans is to provide direction and oversight of strategic international activity at College level. The College International Deans are responsible for developing and implementing College International Strategies with the aim of expanding the international reach of the College with respect to student growth and diversity, student outward mobility, international consultancy and strategic research links. 

 Arts Professor Anselm Heinrich Anselm.Heinrich@glasgow.ac.uk
 MVLS Professor Matthew Walters
(copy in Christine Kerr, PA to Matthew Walters, for meeting requests)   

Professor Chris Loughrey 

Matthew.Walters@glasgow.ac.uk
(PA: Christine.Kerr@glasgow.ac.uk)

Christopher.Loughrey@glasgow.ac.uk

 Science and Engineering Acting in lieu of Dean
Katherine Henderson (copy in Lynn Esson)
Katherine.henderson@glasgow.ac.uk
Lynn.Esson@glasgow.ac.uk
 Social Sciences Professor Clare McManus
Clare.McManus@glasgow.ac.uk