Deans for Global Engagement

Deans for Global Engagement

Five Deans for Global Engagement work strategically at regional level to support internationalisation at University of Glasgow. The Deans:

  • support the Vice Principal Internationalisation by acting as a source of expertise in their region’s education sector, and; 
  • provide advice and guidance to University of Glasgow staff, relating to government and the Higher Education sector.

Their role is to establish priorities and facilitate decisions that will enhance and support strategic internationalisation initiatives in accordance with the University’s Internationalisation Strategy 2015-2020. Each Dean for Global Engagement is responsible for taking forward a regional strategy for the University - promoting academic business development including:

  • delivery of education;
  • collaborative research;
  • knowledge transfer activities, and;
  • student experience and recruitment.

The Deans manage relationships at all levels internally and externally - building the reputation of the University across their region. They identify, promote and support research by engaging with overseas governments and industry.

They also perform ambassadorial roles - representing the University within the region and to incoming delegations.


Africa and Middle East - Professor Paul Garside

Professor Paul Garside
Dean for Global Engagement for Africa and the Middle East
+44 (0)141 330 7251

The Americas - Professor David Fearn

Professor David Fearn
Dean for Global Engagement for the Americas
+44 (0)141 330 5417 

Europe - Professor James Conroy

Professor James Conroy
Dean for Global Engagement for Europe
+44 (0)141 330 7375

China and East Asia - Professor Konstantinos Kontis

Professor Konstantinos Kontis
Dean for Global Engagement for the China and East Asia
+44 (0)141 330 4337


South and South East Asia - Professor Bill Cushley

Professor Bill Cushley
Dean of Global Engagement for South and South East Asia (Australasia)
+44 (0)141 330 5261

College International Deans


 Arts Dr Anselm Heinrich
 MVLS Professor Matthew Walters
(copy in Christine Kerr, PA to Matthew Walters, for meeting requests)   

Dr Chris Loughrey

 Science and Engineering  Dr Ian Watson
 Social Sciences  Dr Clare McManus