Equality and Diversity


Equality & Diversity Officers

The School currently has two Equality & Diversity Officers, Angela Eden and Dr Eric Yao. Part of the officers’ role is to provide a confidential service of advice and guidance to staff and students regarding issues such as harassment or discrimination. If you would like to speak to either Angela or Stephen in confidence, please do not hesitate to contact them.


Project Juno

‌  The School of Physics and Astronomy is committed to providing an equitable environment for study and work, in line with the principles of Project Juno of the Institute of Physics.  Specifically, we seek to ensure that we provide an environment in which women and men can thrive at all study, career and life stages.  Our commitment was recognised in October 2011 by the award of Juno Champion status, and further recognised by the award of an Athena SWAN Silver award in 2013 (which was re-awarded in October 2016 and recently again in October 2018), in view of positive steps taken in this direction.  We were especially heartened that our Juno Champion status was reconfirmed in January 2015 and has just been renewed again in August 2018.  Our current priorities and planned activities may be seen in our current Action Plan 2018.  

Whilst we have focussed on gender equality to date, we recognise that this work towards promoting an equitable environment is also beneficial to members of other groups who have historically been discriminated against in society.  

The University is a Stonewall Scotland Diversity Champion and we seek to provide a welcoming and fair environment for LBGTQ+ students and staff.

The University is working towards increased racial diversity and making itself a good environment for BAME students and staff.  Further resources for students and staff may be accessed from the Equality and Diversity unit.

The University is committed to supporting disabled staff and students, and further information can be found through the Disability Service.

We are delighted that there are women at all levels of the school, from a significant percentage of our undergraduate classes, through to several Professors.  There has been major progress over the past years in increasing our fraction of female academic staff.  Nevertheless, we recognise that there is still a long journey ahead before we have the levels of gender equality in our school that are seen in some other countries.  One key point in working towards equal opportunities is to recognise the current issues, and an important tool in this is to maintain reliable statistics of gender balance at all career stages, and to make these publically available.  We have records for this going back about 15-20 years, and these are summarised below and on the succeeding pages.

Our undergraduate intake has typically consists of about 20-25% women up until 2013, and this ratio varied little throughout all classes through to graduation.  There has been a recent jump in the proportion of women entering physics and astronomy since 2014, and this is discussed in more detail on our page on Undergraduate trends.

Female percentage in Physics and Astronomy 1

Further analysis of our progress in gender equality since 1998 is detailed on succeeding pages (linked from the left hand menu bar), providing more detail for specific groups of students and staff.

‌There is also a Juno section on the Physics and Astronomy Moodle site at http://physci.moodle.gla.ac.uk/course/view.php?id=260 and a Juno committee oversees our actions, which includes members of permanent academic staff; professional, administrative and support staff, research staff, and research students: Dr Chris Bouchard, Louise Clark, Laura Cowan, Dr Sarah Croke (chair), Angela Eden, Prof Daniele Faccio, Katie Farrell, and Dr Ian MacLaren, Rachael McLauchlan, and Dr Fiona Speirits.  Please contact us for more information.