Undergraduate Medical School Staff 2020/2021

Professor John Paul Leach, Head of Undergraduate School, john.leach@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Deputy Head of School (Clinical Phases), malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk
Professor Alastair Gracie, Deputy Head of School (Early Phases), alastair.gracie@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lloyd, School Manager, helen.lloyd@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 1

Year 1 Enquiries: med-sch-y1mbchb@glasgow.ac.uk
Prof Alastair Gracie, Director, alastair.gracie@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Genevieve Stapleton, Deputy, genevieve.stapleton@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Elaine Jamieson, Y1 Administrator, 0141 330 6499, elaine.jamieson@glasgow.ac.uk

Hospital Visits Lead: Dr Mohamad Guftar Shaikh, Guftar.Shaikh@glasgow.ac.uk


Phase 1 Lead: Dr Genevieve Stapleton, genevieve.stapleton@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Kirsty McIntyre, kirsty.mcintyre@glasgow.ac.uk
Limbs & Back Lead: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Waqar Ahmed, waqar.ahmed@glasgow.ac.uk
Cardiovascular & Respiratory Lead: Mr Ian Colquhoun, ian.colquhoun@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Louise Miller, louise.miller@glasgow.ac.uk
Keeping People Healthy Leads: Dr Cathy Johnman, cathy.johnman@glasgow.ac.uk and Dr James Paton, james.paton@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinators: Dr Leah Marks, leah.marks@glasgow.ac.uk and Ms Jacquie Reilly, jacqueline.reilly@glasgow.ac.uk


Community Oriented Medical Experience Track (COMET)

COMET Lead: Dr Lynsay Crawford, lynsay.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk 

Year 2

Year 2 Enquiries: med-sch-y2mbchb@glasgow.ac.uk
Prof Stuart McDonald, Director, stuart.mcdonald@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Sneddon, Deputy, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Nicola Cumming, Year 2 Administrator, 0141 330 4281, nicola.cumming@glasgow.ac.uk

Gastrointestinal Lead: Dr Jack Winter, jack.winter@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Waqar Ahmed, waqar.ahmed@glasgow.ac.uk,
Reproduction, Nephrology & Urology Leads: Dr Colin Geddes, colin.geddes@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and Dr Sharon Sneddon, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Endocrine Lead: Dr Marie Freel, marie.freel@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Sarah Meek, sarah.meek@glasgow.ac.uk
Head, Neck & Neurological Systems Leads: Professor Andrew Todd, andrew.todd@glasgow.ac.uk and Professor Stuart McDonald, stuart.mcdonald@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Sarah Meek, sarah.meek@glasgow.ac.uk
People and Illness Leads: Dr Angela Cogan, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and Dr Aileen Linn, aileen.linn@glasgow.ac.uk
Hospital Visits Lead: Dr Mohamad Guftar Shaikh, Guftar.Shaikh@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 3

Year 3 Enquiries: med-sch-y3mbchb@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr James Boyle, Director, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Nana Sartania, Director, nana.sartania@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Margaret McMillan, Deputy, margaret.mcmillan3@nhs.net
Dr Sharon Sneddon, CBL Coordinator, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Joanna Traynor, GP Year Director, Joanna.Traynor@glasgow.ac.uk 
Ms Veronika Flaskarova, Acting Year 3 Administrator, 0141 330 8036, Lucy.Brown@glasgow.ac.uk
 
Week 1 Genetics Lead: Professor Ed Tobias, edward.tobias@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 2 General Pathological Mechanisms Lead: Dr Karin Oien, karin.oien@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 3 Female GU Lead: Dr Geraldine O'Dowd, geraldine.o'dowd@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Week 4 Haematology Lead: Dr Edward Fitzsimons, edward.fitzsimons@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 5 Cardiology Lead: Dr Pardeep Jhund, pardeep.jhund@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 6 General Microbiology Lead: Dr Brian Jones, brian.jones@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 7 Infection Lead: Dr Brian Jones, brian.jones@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 8 Respiratory Lead: Dr Anne McKay, anne.mckay@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 9 Endocrinology/Metabolic Medicine Lead: Dr Frances McManus, frances.mcmanus@glasgow.ac.uk and Dr Kate Hughes, kate.hughes2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 10 Dermatology Lead: Dr Grant Wylie, grant.wylie@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 11 Orthopaedics/Rheumatology Lead: Dr Jane Madeley, jane.madeley@glasgow.ac.uk and Dr Neil McGuchan, neil.mcguchan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 12 Neurology Lead: Dr Ed Newman, edward.newman@nhs.net
Week 13 GI/Liver Lead: Dr Adrian Stanley, adrian.stanley@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and Dr Sioban Fraser, siobanfraser@nhs.net
Week 14 Renal/Male GU Lead: Dr Emily McQuarrie, emily.mcquarrie@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 15 General Practice: Professor Lindsey Pope, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk


Clinical Practice in the Community

Dr Zoe Noonan, Clinical Practice in the Community Lead, zoe.noonan@glasgow.ac.uk
 
Ms Emer O'Hara, Acting Assistant Teaching Administrator, 0141 330 8334, Emer.O'Hara@glasgow.ac.uk


Intercalated BSc

Professor Tom Evans, Director, tom.evans@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr William Miller, Coordinator, william.h.miller@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Louise Miller, Coordinator, louise.miller@glasgow.ac.uk 
Mrs Laura McMichael, Administrator, 0141 330 8349, laura.mcmichael@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 4

Year 4 Enquiries: med-sch-y4mbchb@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Year 4 Director, malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Craig Napier, Year Director (General Practice), craig.napier@glasgow.ac.uk

Miss Angela Davie, Year 4 Administrator, 0141 330 2901, angela.davie@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 5

Year 5 Enquiries: med-sch-y5mbchb@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Jason Long, Year 5 Director, jason.long@glasgow.ac.uk


Dr Maria Duffy, Year Director (General Practice), Maria.Duffy@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Angela Davie, Year 5 Administrator, 0141 330 2901, angela.davie@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 4 & 5 Clinical Attachments

Medicine Lead: Dr James Boyle, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Surgery Lead: Mr Paul Glen, paul.glen@gla.ac.uk
Cardiology Lead: Mr Alan Kirk, alan.kirk@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk
Emergency Medicine Leads: Dr Fiona Burton, fionaburton@nhs.net and Dr Hannah Smith, hannah.smith@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
ENT Lead: Miss May Yaneza, may.yaneza@glasgow.ac.uk
General Practice Lead: Dr Jilly Hamilton, jillian.hamilton@glasgow.ac.uk
Neurology Lead: Dr Ed Newman, edward.newman@nhs.net
Obstetrics & Gynaecology Lead: Dr Simone Vella, simone.vella@glasgow.ac.uk
Ophthalmology Lead: Dr Cliff Weir, clifford.weir@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Orthopaedics Lead: Mr Nasir Hussain, nasir.hussain@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Paediatrics Lead: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Psychological Medicine Lead: Dr Angela Cogan, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Anaesthesia Lead: Dr Mohammed Al-Haddad, Mohammed.AlHaddad@glasgow.ac.uk


Preparation for Practice

Dr Jonny Gordon and Dr Fozia Nazir, Joint PfP Directors Jonny.Gordon@glasgow.ac.uk and Fozia.Nazir@glasgow.ac.uk
PfP Administrator, med-sch-pfp@glasgow.ac.uk


Vertical Themes

Anatomy & Imaging: Dr Cindy Chew, Director, chewszewan@aol.com
Biomedical Sciences: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, Director, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Clinical Reasoning: Joint Leads - Dr James Boyle, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk and Dr Martin Hughes, martinhughes3@nhs.net
Clinical Skills: Lead, Dr Jason Long, jason.long@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Sam Cameron, Clinical & Vocational Skills Resource Manager, 0141 330 8047, sophia.cameron@glasgow.ac.uk
Communication Skills: Dr Elaine Taylor, Communication Skills Lead, 0141 330 8358, elaine.taylor@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Pamela Small, Patient and Public Involvement Officer, pamela.small@glasgow.ac.uk
Arlene Murphy, Year 3 Communication Skills Administrator, 0141 330 8346, arlene.murphy@glasgow.ac.uk
Palliative Care: Dr Fiona Finlay, fiona.finlay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Pharmacology: Dr Neil Ritchie, Deputy, neil.ritchie@glasgow.ac.uk
Professionalism: Professor Lindsey Pope, Director of Professionalism, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk
Public Health: Dr Cathy Johnman, Director, cathy.johnman@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Jacquie Reilly, Deputy, jacqueline.reilly@glasgow.ac.uk
Simulation: Dr Fiona Burton, Fiona.Burton@glasgow.ac.uk

Ethics: Dr Al Dowie, Al.Dowie@glasgow.ac.uk

Vocational Studies: Dr Lynsay Crawford, Director of Vocational Studies, lynsay.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Vocational Studies, To be appointed

Dr Iain Grom, GP University Teacher, iain.grom@glasgow.ac.uk

Miss Anna Galloway, Temporary Teaching Administrator, 0141 330 8310, anna.galloway@glasgow.ac.uk


Community Based Education

Professor Lindsey Pope, Director of Community Based Education, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk

Miss Nikki White, Medical School Administrator (General Practice), 0141 330 2254, Nikki.White@glasgow.ac.uk


Student Selected Components

Dr Joanne Burke, Director, joanne.burke@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Camille Huser, Deputy, camille.huser@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Martin Perry, Deputy, M.Perry@clinmed.gla.ac.uk

Dr Sharon Sneddon, Deputy, Sharon.Sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk 
Mrs Maureen Gibson, Administrator, 0141 330 2214, med-sch-ssc@glasgow.ac.uk


Electives

Dr Neil McGuchan, Director, neil.ian@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Nicola Cumming, Administrator, 0141 330 6241, nicola.cumming@glasgow.ac.uk


MBChB Examinations

Assessment Enquiries: med-sch-assessment@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Carol Ditchfield, Chair of MBChB Assessment Committee, 0141 330 8057, carol.ditchfield@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Carol Ditchfield, Year 1 Exam Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8057, carol.ditchfield@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Sneddon, Year 2 Exam Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8032, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Camille Huser, Year 1 MILE Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8038, camille.huser@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Lynsay Crawford, Vocational Studies Coursework Lead, 0141 330 8350, lynsay.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Kirsty McIntyre, Year 1 Coursework Coordinator, 0141 30 8025, kirsty.mcintyre@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Camille Huser, Year 2 Coursework Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8038, camille.huser@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Rajan Patel, Years 3, 4 & 5 Exam Coordinator, rajan.patel@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr James Boyle, Year 3 Exam Co-ordinator, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Paul Glen, Year 4 Exam Coordinator, paul.glen@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Year 4 Exam Co-ordinator, malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Jason Long, Year 5 Exam Co-ordinator, jason.long@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Ed Newman, Year 5 Exam Coordinator, edward.newman@nhs.net
Clinical Assessment Lead, Mr Ian Colquhoun, Ian.Colquhoun@glasgow.ac.uk
Clinical Assessment Lead, Dr Zoe Noonan,  Zoe.Noonan@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Suzanne McDowall, Examinations & NHS Liaison Officer, 0141 330 8072, suzanne.mcdowall@glasgow.ac.uk


Academic Studies Advice

Ms Maxinne Connolly, MVLS Effective Learning Adviser, maxinne.connolly@glasgow.ac.uk


Student Support

Student Support Enquiries: med-sch-welfare@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Angela Cogan, Head of Student Support, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Ms Megan Carlin Acting Student Support Administrator, 0141 330 7488, Megan.Carlin@glasgow.ac.uk


MBChB Admissions

Admissions Enquiries: med-sch-admissions@glasgow.ac.uk
Prof Matthew Walters, Director of Admissions, matthew.walters@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Nana Sartania, Deputy Director of Admissions, nana.sartania@glasgow.ac.uk
Mr Mark Underwood, Deputy Director of Admissions, mark.underwood@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Meg Reid, Deputy Medical School Manager, meg.reid@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Coleen Anderson, Admissions Administrator, 0141 330 6216, med-sch-admissions@glasgow.ac.uk


School Library and Undergraduate Medical School Reception

Library Reception & Enquiries, med-sch-library@glasgow.ac.uk


School Administration

Dr Helen Lloyd, School Manager, 0141 330 4424, helen.lloyd@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Meg Reid, Deputy Medical School Manager, 0141 330 8340, meg.reid@glasgow.ac.uk


E-Learning

To be appointed


ACT Finance

Miss Evelyn Laing, ACT Finance Officer, +44 (0)141 330 8024, evelyn.laing@glasgow.ac.uk


Year 1 External Examiners

Dr Kenneth McKeegan, Newcastle University
Dr Andrew O’Malley, University of Southampton
Dr Kirsty Shires, University of Birmingham


Year 2 External Examiners

Dr Bipasha Choudhury, University of Manchester
Dr Alun Hughes, University of St Andrews
External Examiner to be appointed


Year 3 External Examiners

Dr Laura Gates, University of Aberdeen
Dr David Hepburn, Hull York Medical School

Dr Jenny Johnston, Queen's Belfast


Year 4/5 External Examiners

Prof Maggie Bartlett, University of Dundee
Dr Richard Davenport, University of Edinburgh
Dr Rachel Holliday, University of Liverpool
Professor Steve Jones, Newcastle University
Dr Neil Kennedy, Queen's University Belfast
Professor Fionnuala McAuliffe, University College Dublin
Two External Examiners to be appointed


SSC External Examiners

To be appointed
Dr Birgit Fruhstorfer, University of Warwick