Undergraduate Medical School Staff 2018/2019

Undergraduate Medical School Staff 2018/2019

Undergraduate Medical School

Prof John Paul Leach, Head of Undergraduate School, john.leach@glasgow.ac.uk

Prof Alastair Gracie, Deputy Head of School (Early Phases), alastair.gracie@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Deputy Head of School (Later Phases), malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk

Prof Jonathan Fox, Deputy Head of School (Assessment), jonathan.fox@glasgow.ac.uk

Dr Nazim Ghouri, Head of Quality Assurance, nazim.ghouri@glasgow.ac.uk

Prof Susan Jamieson, Deputy Head of School (Educator Development), susan.jamieson@glasgow.ac.uk

Mrs Eunice Duncan, Undergraduate Medical School Manager, eunice.duncan@glasgow.ac.uk

Year 1
Prof Alastair Gracie, Director, alastair.gracie@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Genevieve Stapleton, Deputy, genevieve.stapleton@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Elaine Jamieson, Secretary, 0141 330 6499, elaine.jamieson@glasgow.ac.uk

Phase 1 Lead: Dr Genevieve Stapleton, genevieve.stapleton@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Aileen Linn, aileen.linn@glasgow.ac.uk
Limbs & Back Lead: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Waqar Ahmed, waqar.ahmed@glasgow.ac.uk
Cardiovascular & Respiratory Lead: Co-ordinator: Dr Louise Miller, louise.miller@glasgow.ac.uk
Keeping People Healthy Leads: Dr Cathy Johnman, cathy.johnman@glasgow.ac.uk and Dr James Paton, james.paton@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinators: Dr Leah Marks, leah.marks@glasgow.ac.uk and Ms Jacquie Reilly, jacqueline.reilly@glasgow.ac.uk

Year 2
Prof Stuart McDonald, Director, stuart.mcdonald@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Sneddon, Deputy, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Maureen Gibson, Secretary, 0141 330 4281, maureen.gibson@glasgow.ac.uk

Gastrointestinal Lead: Dr Jack Winter, jack.winter@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Waqar Ahmed, waqar.ahmed@glasgow.ac.uk
Reproduction, Nephrology & Urology Leads: Dr Colin Geddes, colin.geddes@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and
Dr Sharon Sneddon, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Endocrine Lead: Dr Marie Freel, marie.freel@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Sarah Meek, sarah.meek@glasgow.ac.uk
Head, Neck & Neurological Systems Leads: Prof Andrew Todd, andrew.todd@glasgow.ac.uk and Prof Stuart McDonald, stuart.mcdonald@glasgow.ac.uk
Co-ordinator: Dr Sarah Meek, sarah.meek@glasgow.ac.uk
People and Illness Leads: Dr Angela Cogan, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and Dr Genevieve Stapleton, genevieve.stapleton@glasgow.ac.uk

Year 3
Dr James Boyle, Director, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Nana Sartania, Director, nana.sartania@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Margaret McMillan, Deputy, margaret.mcmillan3@nhs.net
Dr Sharon Sneddon, CBL Coordinator, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Hannah Mackay, Secretary, 0141 330 8036/0141 451 1346, hannah.mackay@glasgow.ac.uk

Week 1 Genetics Lead: Prof Ed Tobias, edward.tobias@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 2 General Pathological Mechanisms Lead: Dr Karin Oien, karin.oien@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 3 Female GU Lead: Dr Geraldine O'Dowd, geraldine.o'dowd@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Week 4 Haematology Lead: Dr Edward Fitzsimons, edward.fitzsimons@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 5 Cardiology Lead: Dr Pardeep Jhund, pardeep.jhund@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 6 General Microbiology Lead: Dr Brian Jones, brian.jones@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 7 Infection Lead: Dr Brian Jones, brian.jones@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 8 Respiratory Lead: Dr Anne McKay, anne.mckay@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 9 Endocrinology/Metabolic Medicine Lead: Dr Kate Hughes, kate.hughes2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 10 Dermatology Lead: Dr Grant Wylie, grant.wylie@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 11 Orthopaedics/Rheumatology Lead: Dr Jane Madeley, jane.madeley@glasgow.ac.uk / Dr Neil McGuchan, neil.mcguchan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 12 Neurology Lead: Dr Ed Newman, edward.newman@nhs.net
Week 13 GI/Liver Lead: Dr Adrian Stanley, adrian.stanley@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Week 14 Renal/Male GU Lead: Dr Emily McQuarrie, emily.mcquarrie@glasgow.ac.uk
Week 15 General Practice: Dr Lindsey Pope, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk

Clinical Practice in the Community
Dr Zoe Noonan, Clinical Practice in the Community Lead, zoe.noonan@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Meg Reid, Deputy Manager, Undergraduate Medical School, meg.reid@glasgow.ac.uk 
Isa Bakr, Assistant Teaching Administrator, 0141 330 8334, isa.bakr@glasgow.ac.uk

Intercalated BSc
Professor Tom Evans, Director, tom.evans@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr William Miller, Coordinator, william.h.miller@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Louise Miller, Coordinator, louise.miller@glasgow.ac.uk 
Mrs Laura McMichael, Secretary, 0141 330 8349, laura.mcmichael@glasgow.ac.uk

Years 4 & 5
Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Year 4 Director, malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Jason Long, Year 5 Director, jasonlong@nhs.net
Dr Scott Nelson, Year 5 Director, scott.nelson@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Angela Davie, Secretary, 0141 330 2901, angela.davie@glasgow.ac.uk

Year 4 & 5 Clinical Attachments
Medicine Lead: Dr James Boyle, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Surgery Lead: Mr Paul Glen, paul.glen@gla.ac.uk
Cardiology Lead: Mr Alan Kirk, alan.kirk@gjnh.scot.nhs.uk
Emergency Medicine Leads: Dr Fiona Burton fionaburton@nhs.net & Dr Hannah Smith hannah.smith@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
ENT Lead: Miss May Yaneza may.yaneza@glasgow.ac.uk
General Practice Lead: Dr Jilly Hamilton, jillian.hamilton@glasgow.ac.uk
Neurology Lead: Dr Ed Newman, edward.newman@nhs.net
Obstetrics & Gynaecology Lead: Dr Simone Vella simone.vella@glasgow.ac.uk
Ophthalmology Lead: Dr Eoghan Millar, eoghan.millar@gmail.com
Orthopaedics Lead: Mr Nasir Hussain, nasir.hussain@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Paediatrics Lead: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Psychological Medicine Lead: Dr Angela Cogan, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Preparation for Practice
Prof Gerard Mckay, Director, gerard.mckay@glasgow.ac.uk
Prof John Paul Leach, Director, john.leach@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Maureen Gibson & Miss Pamela Small, Administrators, 0141 330 4281/8018, med-sch-pfp@glasgow.ac.uk

Vertical Themes
Anatomy & Imaging: Dr Cindy Chew, Director, chewszewan@aol.com
Biomedical Sciences: Dr Janet Gardner-Medwin, Director, janet.gardner-medwin@glasgow.ac.uk
Clinical Skills: Lead, Dr Jason Long, jason.long@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Sam Cameron, Clinical & Vocational Skills Resource Manager, 0141 330 8047, sophia.cameron@glasgow.ac.uk
Communication Skills: Dr Elaine Taylor, Communication Skills Lead, 0141 330 8358, elaine.taylor@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Pamela Small, Patient and Public Involvement Officer, pamela.small@glasgow.ac.uk
Arlene Murphy, Year 3 Comm Skills Administrator, 0141 330 8346, arlene.murphy@glasgow.ac.uk
Pharmacology: Dr Neil Ritchie, Deputy, neil.ritchie@glasgow.ac.uk
Professionalism: Dr Lindsey Pope, Director of Professionalism, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk
Public Health: Dr Cathy Johnman, Director, cathy.johnman@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Jacquie Reilly, Deputy, jacqueline.reilly@glasgow.ac.uk
Simulation: Dr Julie Mardon, Lead for Simulation, julie.mardon@gla.ac.uk
Vocational Studies: Dr Lindsey Pope, Director of Vocational Studies, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Lynsay Crawford, Deputy Director of Vocational Studies, lynsay.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Iain Grom, Clinical University Teacher, iain.grom@glasgow.ac.uk
Administrator, to be appointed

Community Based Education
Dr Lindsey Pope, Director of Community Based Education, lindsey.pope@glasgow.ac.uk

Student Selected Components
Dr Joanne Burke, Director, joanne.burke@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Camille Huser, Deputy, camille.huser@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Leah Marks, Deputy, leah.marks@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Nicola Cumming, Administrator, 0141 330 6241, med-sch-ssc@glasgow.ac.uk

Electives
Director, to be appointed
Mrs Nicola Cumming, Administrator, 0141 330 6241, nicola.cumming@glasgow.ac.uk

MBChB Examinations
Dr Carol Ditchfield, Chair of MBChB Assessment Committee, 0141 330 8057, carol.ditchfield@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Carol Ditchfield, Year 1 Exam Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8057, carol.ditchfield@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Sneddon, Year 2 Exam Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8032, sharon.sneddon@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Camille Huser, Year 1 MILE Co-ordinator, 0141 330 8038, camille.huser@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Amanda McKie, Year 1&2 Coursework Co-ordinator, 0141 330 6642, amanda.mckie@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr James Boyle, Year 3 Exam Co-ordinator, james.boyle@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Malcolm Shepherd, Year 4 Exam Co-ordinator, malcolm.shepherd@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Jason Long, Year 5 Exam Co-ordinator, jason.long@glasgow.ac.uk
Prof Jonathan Fox, MCQ Co-ordinator, jonathan.fox@glasgow.ac.uk
OSCE2 Lead, to be appointed
OSCE3&5 Lead, to be appointed
Miss Suzanne McDowall, Examinations & NHS Liaison Officer, 0141 330 8072, suzanne.mcdowall@glasgow.ac.uk

Academic Studies Advice
Dr Scott Ramsay, Effective Learning Adviser, scott.ramsay.2@glasgow.ac.uk

Student Support
Student Support enquiries, med-sch-welfare@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Angela Cogan, Head of Student Support, angela.cogan@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Mr Edmond Harris, Student Support Administrator, 0141 330 7488, edmond.harris@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Shahn Deegan, Admissions & Student Support Assistant, shahn.deegan@glasgow.ac.uk

MBChB Admissions
Professor Matthew Walters, Director of Admissions, matthew.walters@glasgow.ac.uk
Mr Graham Haddock, Deputy Director of Admissions, graham.haddock@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Nana Sartania, Deputy Director of Admissions, nana.sartania@glasgow.ac.uk
Mr Mark Underwood, Deputy Director of Admissions, mark.underwood@glasgow.ac.uk
Mrs Eunice Duncan, Medical School Manager, eunice.duncan@glasgow.ac.uk 
Mrs Coleen Anderson/Ms Angie MacIntosh, Admissions Administrator (job share), 0141 330 6216, med-sch-admissions@glasgow.ac.uk
Miss Shahn Deegan, Admissions & Student Support Assistant, shahn.deegan@glasgow.ac.uk

School Library and Undergraduate Medical School Reception
Mrs Nicola Cumming, School Library Office Supervisor, 0141 330 4281, nicola.cumming@glasgow.ac.uk 
Reception staff: med-sch-library@glasgow.ac.uk 

School Administration
Mrs Eunice Duncan, Medical School Manager, 0141 330 4424, eunice.duncan@glasgow.ac.uk
Ms Meg Reid, Deputy Medical School Manager, 0141 330 8340, meg.reid@glasgow.ac.uk
Mr Edmond Harris, Student Support Administrator, 0141 330 7488, edmond.harris@glasgow.ac.uk
Dr Helen Lloyd, Medical School Administrator, 0141 330 6223, helen.lloyd@glasgow.ac.uk

E-Learning
Dr Aileen Linn, E-Learning Development Officer, +44 (0)141 330 8029, aileen.linn@glasgow.ac.uk

Finance
Miss Evelyn Laing, ACT Finance Officer, +44 (0)141 330 8024, evelyn.laing@glasgow.ac.uk

Year 1 External Examiners
Dr Kenneth McKeegan, Newcastle University
Dr Andrew O’Malley, University of Southampton
External Examiner to be appointed

Year 2 External Examiners
Dr Bipasha Choudhury, University of Manchester
Dr Alun Hughes, University of St Andrews
Dr Helen Lawrence, St Paul’s Medical Centre, Carlisle

Year 3 External Examiners
Dr Tom Fardon, Dundee Medical School
Dr Laura Gates, University of Aberdeen
Dr David Hepburn, Hull York Medical School

Year 4/5 External Examiners
Professor Maggie Bartlett, University of Dundee
Dr Richard Davenport, University of Edinburgh
Dr Rachel Holliday, University of Liverpool
Professor Steve Jones, Newcastle University
Dr Neil Kennedy, Queen's University Belfast
Professor Fionnuala McAuliffe, University College Dublin
Professor Philip Smith, University Hospital of Wales

SSC External Examiners
Dr Bernard Croal, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
Dr Birgit Fruhstorfer, University of Warwick