A to Z of Remits

College of Social Sciences Contacts   
Academic skills support (Postgraduate Taught students) Dr Gayle Pringle Barnes
Admissions (Postgraduate Research and Postgraduate Taught) PG Admissions
Advertising (staff recruitment) Local Resourcing Co-ordinator
Advertising (scholarships, programmes) - external Mrs Laura Macfadyen
Advising (undergraduate - administration of MA Social Sciences only) MA SocSci Advising Team
Affiliate appointments (see also Honorary appointments) Leadership Support Team
Appeals (Undergraduate and Postgraduate students) Appeals Committee
Bequests Director of College Professional Services
Boards of Studies Committee Ms Rosalind Wright
Budgets (see also Finance) Ms Jennifer Davies
Certificates of Admission to Study (CAS) – extension requests to PGR/PGT Tier 4 /Student visas  Graduate School Team
Certificates of Admission to Study (CAS) – extension requests to UG Tier 4/Student visas MA SocSci Advising Team
Chief Advisers See UG Advisers of Studies
College Council Leadership Support Team
College Management Group Leadership Support Team
College Learning & Teaching Committee Leadership Support Team
Commercial Contracts Director of College Professional Services
Committees See Committees
Complaints (Students) Senate Office
Computing labs See Computer Clusters
Corporate Plan Director of College Professional Services
Diary - Head of College Leadership Support Team
Diary - Director of College Professional Services Leadership Support Team
E-learning TBC
Employability Dr Dickon Copsey
Endowments Director of College Professional Services
Equipment bid Director of College Professional Services
Enlighten Research Office
English language support (Postgraduate students) Dr Gayle Pringle Barnes
Estates Director of College Professional Services
Ethics Applications (PGR Students and Staff) College Ethics Inbox
Ethics Committee College Ethics Inbox
Extension to thesis submission requests (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team
External Examiners (Postgraduate Research) - appointment Graduate School Team
External Examiner - fees and expenses See School contacts
Finance Ms Jennifer Davies
Freedom of Information Leadership Support Team
Graduate School Board (see also Committees) Professor Irene-Marie Esser
Graduations (Postgraduate Research) Registry Graduations
Honorary appointments (see also Affiliate appointments) Leadership Support Team
Human Resources (College enquiries excluding recruitment) Human Resources Team
Human Resources (recruitment) Local Resourcing Co-ordinator
Inductions - MA (Social Sciences) only MA SocSci Advising Team
Inductions (Undergraduate students) - Law, Education, Social & Environmental Sustainability See School contacts
Internationalisation Ms Angela Melley
International students Dr Gayle Pringle Barnes
IT support See College IT Services
Knowledge Exchange Mr Des McNulty
MA (Social Sciences) and Chief Adviser's Office MA SocSci Advising Team
Marketing and Conversion Mrs Laura Macfadyen
Memoranda of Understanding / Agreements / Partnerships Ms Angela Melley
On Course Enquiries (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team
Open Days - MA (Social Sciences) only MA SocSci Advising Team
Performance Development Review (PDR) Human Resources Team
PIP Programme and course approval process (Undergraduate and Postgraduate)  Ms Rosalind Wright
Progress Committee (Undergraduate) See Progess Committees
Progress Reviews (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team
Project Approval Forms (PAFs)  Research Office
Promotions See Human Resources
Quality Assurance Prof Tom Guthrie
Recognition & Reward See Human Resources
Recruitment (Students) Mrs Laura Macfadyen
Recruitment (Staff) Local Resourcing Co-ordinator
Researcher Development Programme Researcher Development
Research Excellence Framework (REF) Research Office
Research grant management Mr Craig Elmer-White
Research impact Mr Kyle Taggart
Research training support grant (RTSG) queries RTSG Contact
Research training programme (Postgraduate Research) Research Training Programme Administrator
Sickness absence reporting (Staff) Line managers
Strategic research allocation Professor Melanie Simms
Student data (eg student numbers, completion rates) Planning, Insight & Analytics
Student Experience Team (skills development, learning support packages, and transition) Student Experience Team
Student funding enquiries (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Scholarships
Student mobility / study abroad Professor John Finlay
Student representation (committees) - Undergraduate and Postgraduate Mr Billy Howie
Study leave  Research Office
Supervisor training Mr Billy Howie
Suspension of study requests (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team
Thesis submission and examination (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team
Tier 4 Attendance Monitoring Tier 4 Team
UKVI matters (Staff) Human Resources Team
UKVI matters (Students) Immigration Compliance
Vivas (Postgraduate Research) Graduate School Team