All scheduled events

Wednesday 27th October 14:30-15:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: Classifying representations in conformal field theory via the combinatorics of symmetric functions

Simon Wood (Cardiff University)


Wednesday 27th October 16:00-17:00
Maths 116 (please note room the room change)

Algebra and Number Theory Seminar

Moduli spaces: old and new

Alastair Craw (University of Bath)


Thursday 28th October 16:00-17:00
Maths 311B/Online

Analysis Seminar

A uniqueness theorem for twisted groupoid C*-algebras

Becky Armstrong (University of Münster)


Friday 29th October 15:00-16:00
https://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/MNW32H/

Statistics Seminar

Mathematical modeling to inform policy: COVID-19 in Illinois

Jaline Geraldine (Northwestern University, Illinois, USA)


Monday 1st November 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

Automorphisms of the fine curve graph

Yvon Verberne (Georgia Institute of Technology)


Wednesday 3rd November 14:30-15:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: TBA

Di Yang (University of Science and Technology of China)


Thursday 4th November 14:00-15:00
Room 110/ZOOM (ID: )

Applied Mathematics

TBD

Dr Alessandro Bravetti (National Autonomous University of Mexico)


Monday 8th November 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

Mapping class group actions on configuration spaces and the Johnson filtration

Andrea Bianchi (University of Copenhagen)


Wednesday 10th November 13:30-14:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: TBA

Tom Claeys (Université Catholique de Louvain)


Friday 12th November 15:00-16:00
https://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/MNW32H/

Statistics Seminar

The Concept of Statistical Evidence

Michael Evans (University of Toronto, Canada)


Monday 15th November 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

TBA

Ryan Budney (University of Victoria)


Wednesday 17th November 13:30-14:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: Higher order finite temperature Airy kernels and an integro-differential Painleve II hierarchy

Sofia Tarricone (Université d'Angers)


Thursday 18th November 14:00-15:00
Room 110/ZOOM (ID: )

Applied Mathematics

Turbulent energy cascade associated with viscous reconnection of two vortex rings

Dr Nguyen Van Luc (Ton Duc Thang University )


Monday 22nd November 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

TBA

Dominic Culver (MPIM Bonn)


Wednesday 24th November 13:30-14:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: TBA

Simonetta Abenda (Università di Bologna)


Friday 26th November 15:00-16:00
https://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/MNW32H/

Statistics Seminar

Distributed Learning of Finite Gaussian Mixtures

Jiahua Chen (University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada)


Monday 29th November 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

TBA

Vaibhav Gadre (University of Glasgow)


Wednesday 1st December 13:30-14:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: TBA

Ana Peón-Nieto (University of Birmingham)


Monday 6th December 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

TBA

Simona Paoli (University of Aberdeen)


Wednesday 8th December 13:30-14:30
Zoom seminar hosted by ICMS

Integrable Systems and Mathematical Physics Seminar

VIRTUAL SEMINAR SERIES -- INTEGRABLE SYSTEMS: TBA

Anastasia Doikou (Heriot-Watt University)


Thursday 9th December 14:00-15:00
Room 110/ZOOM (ID: )

Applied Mathematics

TBD

Prof Matthew Browning (University of Exeter)


Friday 10th December 15:00-16:00
https://www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/MNW32H/

Statistics Seminar

Identification of Underlying Partial Differential Equations from Noisy Data with Splines

Xiaoming Hao


Monday 13th December 16:00-17:00
Online

Geometry and Topology Seminar

TBA

Celeste Damiani (Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine)


Friday 14th January, 2022 15:00-16:00
tbc

Statistics Seminar

Probabilistic energy forecasting: successes and challenges

Jethro Browell (University of Glasgow)


Friday 28th January, 2022 15:00-16:00
tbc

Statistics Seminar

Computational Metabolomics as a game of Battleships

Vinny Davies (University of Glasgow)


Friday 11th February, 2022 15:00-16:00
tbc

Statistics Seminar

Generalized Dirichlet Modelling Frameworks for Compositional Time Series

Oliver Stoner