Our Stellar Academic Team Continues to Shine

Published: 22 December 2022

Several new grants, awards and publications for our teaching and research teams

Electro-Magnetic Environment Hub Funded

A team including Dr Qammer Abbasi and Professor Muhammad Imran has been successful with a Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (DSTL) EME (ElectroMagnetic Environment) Hub bid worth £10m, alongside consortium partners Loughborough University, QMUL, Leeds University, Queen's Belfast, and several industrial partners. Winning funding for 4 years, Glasgow has a share of £1.8 million.

The unique Hub setup has research, training, networking and translational work as essential requirements. It will provide significant interaction opportunities with DSTL, defence companies, and other industries, while enabling the team to help shape future directions of research in this field by expanding the Hub beyond the current funded period.

Apply For Funding - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

EPSRC UK-India Future Networks Initiative for Dr Kayode Onireti

Dr Oluwakayode Onireti 's application for funding to the EPSRC UK-India Future Networks Initiative (UKI-FNI) has been successful. He has been awarded a short-duration (6 months) project which potentially has a very high impact and an opportunity for a larger follow-on grant. Well done Kayode and his collaborators Professor Lei Zhang, Dr Yusuf Sambo, and Professor Muhammad Imran.

UK Develops Strategic Partnership with India on Future Telecom Networks - UKI-FNI (ukifni.org)

Chancellor's Fund for Internet-of-Mirrors

More congratulations go to Dr Lina Mohjazi (PI) and Dr Ahmad Taha (Co-I) for securing the Chancellor's Fund to develop an Internet-of-Mirrors (IoM) prototype for Assistive Health and Beauty.

The prototype will consist of a smart mirror functioning as an immersive dashboard that visualises real-time face features and skin analytics obtained through 5G connectivity to recommend personalised health and beauty consultations/routines. The project will be supported with co-funding via other funds.

Chancellor's Fund

IEEE Sensors Council Best Paper Award

Well done to Dr Yao Sun, Professor Lei Zhang, Professor Muhammad Imran and their co-authors for being selected as the recipients of the 2022 IEEE Internet of Things journal's 'Best Paper Award' for the paper 'Blockchain-Enabled Wireless Internet of Things: Performance Analysis and Optimal Communication Node Deployment.'

In the paper, they establish an analytical model for the blockchain-enabled wireless IoT system, supporting an understanding of the relationship between communication and blockchain, and the impact of performance constraints on the design of a dedicated blockchain-enabled IoT system. Based on the system model and performance analysis, the authors designed an algorithm to determine the optimal full function node deployment for blockchain system under the criterion of maximizing transaction throughput.

The award is given to the best published paper of the past three years, and judging considers a number of factors including general quality, originality, contribution, subject matter, and timeliness.

Blockchain-Enabled Wireless Internet of Things: Performance Analysis and Optimal Communication Node Deployment | IEEE Journals & Magazine | IEEE Xplore


More success for Dr Qammer Abbasi and his team who have won an international partnership grant under the 2022 Program of the RSE Scotland Asia Partnerships Higher Education Research (SAPHIRE) Fund, supported by the Scottish Government. The project, titled 'COST: COmmunity based SusTainable future healthcare' will be a collaboration with a number of educational and community organisations in Pakistan. Dr Masood Ur-Rehman is a co-investigator in the grant, which will also be supported by Professor Muhammad Imran.

RSE Scotland Asia Partnerships Higher Education Research Fund - Royal Society of Edinburgh

Fellowship and Awards for Dr Qammer Abbasi

Dr Qammer H. Abbasi gained a Royal Academy of Engineering Industrial Fellowship for his project 'RISE: radiating element development for satellite communications phased arrays'. Next generation satellite communication systems are increasingly adopting phased arrays, so that operators can optimise reception and transmission in real time, in response to changing link requirements. In this project, new approaches to radiating antenna elements, feeding mechanisms and array system integrations will be investigated, designed, and fabricated to cool the heat generated by the phased array.

He will now join Edinburgh based Celestia UK for the next twelve months. The company is an "international, multi technology group focused on continuous innovation in spacecraft communications".

Dr Abassi has also been awarded 'World Class Professor' from the Ministry of Education Culture, Research and Technology, Jakarta, Indonesia.

New Industrial Fellowships awarded for projects that address a range of societal challenges (raeng.org.uk)

UK Young Academy Membership

Dr Ahmad Taha was successful in his application to be one of the first members of the newly established UK Young Academy which is an interdisciplinary organisation of UK-based early-career researchers, innovators and professionals from across society who have made significant contributions to their fields. His membership will start from 01 January 2023 and will last for 5 years. As a member in the academy’s first year, he will contribute to shaping the strategy and focus of the organisation.

Shaping a better future together | UK Young Academy

New Book on 6G Wireless Networks

Dr Lina Mohjazi, Professor Muhammad Imran and Dr Qammer Abassi have co-edited and published a new book for Wiley and IEEE, on 'Intelligent Reconfigurable Surfaces (IRS) for Prospective 6G Wireless Networks' along with colleagues from other institutions. Dr Mohjazi said she was "truly thrilled that our book is now published with Wiley and IEEE after more than a year of work".

Find out more, and order your copy from the publisher, here:

Intelligent Reconfigurable Surfaces (IRS) for Prospective 6G Wireless Networks | Wiley

First published: 22 December 2022