Group Leads

Gordon Ramage   Microbial biofilms; Oral and systemic candidiasis; Antifungals; Antimicrobial resistance

Shauna Culshaw  Periodontics; Caries; Periodontal infection and autoimmunity; Oral immune response

Jeremy Bagg   Oral microorganisms in systemic disease; Oral infections in the medically compromised; Infection control in dental surgery; Public health microbiology

Andrew Smith  Infection prevention sciences

Marcello Riggio  Oral diseases of animals; Link between oral and systemic disease; Oral microbiome in health and disease; Host-pathogen interactions 

Christopher Nile  Inflammation; Mucosal innate immunity; Acetylcholine; Interleukin-17 family; Biofilms; Candidiasis

David Lappin  Inflammatory mediators; Periodontal diseases of humans and animals; Metabolic disorders; Osteoimmunology

Douglas Robertson  Relationship between oral and systemic disease; Treatment and resistance of microbial biofilms in prosthodontics

Victoria Hannah  Relationship between oral and systemic disease

Marta Czesnikiewicz-Guzik  Oral inflammation; Periodontal disease; Endothelial dysfunction; Hypertension


Research Students and Staff

Research students

photo of Hassanain

Mr Hasanain Kahtan Abdulkhalik Alalwan
PhD student
h.alalwan.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Nanofabrication of denture materials


Mrs Sheeba Thomas
PhD student
s.thomas.3@research.gla.ac.uk
Feline tooth resorption


Chris Delaney

Mr Christopher Delaney
PhD student
c.delaney.1@research.gla.ac.uk
OMICS approaches to oral healthcare


 Tracy Shaw

Mrs Tracy Shaw
PhD student
t.shaw.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Commercialising complex biofilms of medical, industrial and environmental importance


Abeer - photo
Mrs Abeer Alghamdi
PhD student
a.alghamdi.4@research.gla.ac.uk
Cholinergic regulation of Candida albicans infections

 

Photo of Maria Tumelty

Dr Maria Tumelty
PhD student
maria.tumelty@glasgow.ac.uk
Granulomatous diseases of the oral cavity



Bryn
Mr Bryn Short
MSc student
2083506S@student.gla.ac.uk
Polymicrobial community survival mechanisms


 Laura Cameron - photo
Laura Cameron
PhD student
l.cameron.3@research.gla.ac.uk
Periodontal disease and systemic inflammation

 

Photo of Jason Brown

Jason Brown
PhD student
Jason.Brown@studentmailuwsac.onmicrosoft.com
Studying the immune response in periodontal disease


Research staff

photo of ranjith

Dr Ranjith Rajendran
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Ranjith.Rajendran@glasgow.ac.uk
Clinical outcomes of Candida albicans biofilm formation

 

 photo of Emma

Miss Emma Millhouse
Research Associate
emma.millhouse@glasgow.ac.uk 
Evaluating the immune responses to periodontal biofilms


Ryan Kean

Mr Ryan Kean
Research Technician
ryan.kean@glasgow.ac.uk
Understanding Candida biofilm heterogeneity