Teaching Excellence Award Winners 2021-22

Published: 29 June 2022

The University of Glasgow recognises the winners of the 2021-22 Teaching Excellence Awards

The University’s Teaching Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate members of staff whose teaching and contribution to learning is of a particularly high standard. As such, they are an indicator of esteem based on peer recognition of excellence in relation to teaching, and the nomination process helps to encourage a culture of collegiality. There are two levels of award: College/Service Awards, from which up to two nominees per College may be considered for a University level award.

An informal Teaching Excellence Network has been formed of all Teaching Excellence Award winners since 2005. Members of the Network have been invited to contribute their skills and expertise to a range of activities, such as training, informal mentoring, peer review and, on a consultative basis, to Learning & Teaching Committee business and strategy meetings.

This year’s Panel was chaired by Professor Wendy Anderson, Assistant Vice Principal (Learning & Teaching).  Wendy and the other panel members, including our external and University Court assessors, were very impressed with the quality of the applications.  Wendy said “The panel were delighted to have been able to recognise the achievements of these colleagues for the very high quality of the work that they have done to support students, particularly during the pandemic”. 

Smita Odedra with her Teaching Excellence Award

Dr Smita Odedra (left), School of Chemistry – Individual Excellence Award, alongside Honorary Graduate Professor Sir David MacMillan (right)

We are delighted to announce the Teaching Excellence Award winners for 2021-22 are:

College of Arts

University Award

Dr Robert Maslen, School of Critical Studies – Career Excellence Award

Archives and Special Collections Team – Team Award

College Award

Museum Studies Team

College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences

College Award

BN Nursing Team

Dental School Multidisciplinary Team (Oral Surgery/Pathology and Radiology)

Neo-natal Consultant Team

College of Science and Engineering

University Award

Dr Qammer Abbasi, James Watt School of Engineering – Individual Excellence Award

Dr Smita Odedra, School of Chemistry – Individual Excellence Award

College of Social Sciences

University Award 

Mr Mark Breslin, School of Education – Early Career Award

First published: 29 June 2022