Engagement Awards 2021 – the shortlist

Research & Innovation Services are pleased to announce the shortlist for the UofG Engagement Awards 2021.

“This year, we received the highest number of entries since the awards began,” says Professor Bonnie Dean, VP Corporate Engagement & Innovation, “and we are delighted by the calibre of the nominations across the University. Our academics are developing new and creative ways to address global challenges and work with partners to drive innovation, work with underserved communities and to adapt our ways of working in a post-COVID environment.

“Building an inclusive community is one of our core values and this is explicitly recognised in our new five-year University strategy. I welcome the diversity shown in the applicants for the shortlist for the awards and in the projects put forward.”

The shortlist is

Best Arts & Culture Collaboration

  • Parasites: Battle for Survival – Dr Vickie Curtis, Wellcome Centre for Integrative Parasitology
  • Guddling About – Professor Minty Donald, School of Culture & Creative Arts
  • Emotive – Professor Maria Economou, School of Humanities

Best Business Collaboration

  • Clean Energy Solutions – SEMWaves Ltd and Dr Chong Li, James Watt School of Engineering
  • Virtual Reality platform ‘Edify’ – Sublime and Professor Fiona Macpherson and Dr Neil McDonnell, School of Humanities
  • The Lighthouse Laboratory, the national COVID-19 testing facility – University of Glasgow and the Department of Health & Social Care with BioAscent, BioClavis and the University of Dundee

Policy & Practice

  • Network for Social and Education Equity – Professor Chris Chapman, Kevin Lowden, Stuart Hall, Irene Bell, Deja Rusk, Jo Neary and Emma Baird – Robert Owen Centre for Educational Change
  • Scotland in Lockdown Study – Professor Sarah Armstrong and Dr Lucy Pickering and a large team of UofG researchers, School of Social & Political Sciences
  • #Sleepyteens project – Dr Heather Cleland Woods and Dr Holly Scott, School of Psychology

Community & Public Engagement

  • DigiGallus Connect – Professor Kathleen Riach, Adam Smith Business School
  • Justice Journeys Survivor Stories – Dr Oona Brooks-Hay, Professor Michele Burman, Dr Lisa Bradley, School of Social & Political Sciences
  • Research Voices: adapting a Citizens’ Jury model to make health research more inclusive for people with learning disabilities – Angela Henderson, Dr Deborah Kinnear, Rhiann McLean – Scottish Learning Disabilities Observatory, Institute of Health & Wellbeing

Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Professors Graeme Milligan and Andrew Tobin – KelticPharma Therapeutics
  • Dr Richard Gray – Lomond Instruments
  • Professor Richard Hogg – Vector Photonics and iii-v epi

The winners of the Engagement Awards and the Research Culture Awards will be announced at the Research Culture & Engagement Celebration on Wednesday 9 June 2021 on the University’s main Twitter account @UofGlasgow. 

First published: 19 April 2021