Published: 12 February 2021

Nominations open for research culture, teaching excellence and world changing alumni awards.

Research Culture Awards

Nominations for the University of Glasgow Research Culture Awards 2021 are now open, closing on 31 March.

The University of Glasgow Research Culture Awards were launched in 2019 to recognise and celebrate activities which promote collegiality and contribute to a positive research culture at the University.

There are full details about the eligibility criteria on the Research Culture Awards webpages.

The Awards are designed to promote a collegial culture and support others to succeed, recognising good research culture and practice across the University. Nominations are open to individuals or teams for activities undertaken within the last three years. Prize winners will be announced at the at the Research Culture & Engagement Celebration, hosted by the Principal, on 9 June 2021.

You can read more about research culture at the University, and about our new Research Strategy on our webpages.

Follow @UofGCultureLab on Twitter to keep up to date with how we are progressing our academic culture.

Teaching Excellence Awards

Teaching Excellence Awards (TEA) recognise and celebrate members of staff whose teaching and contribution to learning is of a particularly high standard. As such, they are an indicator of esteem based on peer recognition of excellence in relation to teaching, and the nomination process helps to encourage a culture of collegiality. There are two levels of award: College/Service Awards, from which up to two nominees per College may be considered for a University level award. College/Service awards include a non-pay award of £1000 to be spent on teaching-related and professional development activities. The University level award is in the form of a £2,000 honorarium. Up to 5 University awards will be made in any one year.

An informal Teaching Excellence Network has been formed of all Teaching Excellence Award winners since 2005. Members of the Network have been invited to contribute their skills and expertise to a range of activities, such as training, informal mentoring, peer review and, on a consultative basis, to Learning & Teaching Committee business and strategy meetings.

Details of how to nominate and criteria are available on the Teaching Excellence Awards webpages.

The closing date for all nominations for the 2020-21 Teaching Excellence Awards is Friday 23 April 2021.

World Changing Alumni Award 

The World Changing Alumni Award is an annual University of Glasgow honour which recognises and celebrates the achievements of our alumni community, who have graduated in the last 15 years.

Anyone can nominate an alumnus for the award (alumni, staff, student, friend, colleagues) and alumni can also nominate themselves.

This year marks 20 years of the award, previous winners include Selina Hales, Founder of Glasgow-based charity Refuweegee, Amal Azzudin, Human Rights Campaigner, and Martin Patience, BBC Middle East correspondent. See a full list of previous winners.

The Award is a fantastic way to acknowledge the contributions that our recent graduates have made to the world around them. The winner will be celebrated with a bespoke event and a feature in the September 2021 edition of Avenue Magazine.

Nominations close at midnight on Wednesday 24 February 2021.

Submit your nomination on the World Changing Alumni Award webpages.  

First published: 12 February 2021