Honours and awards for UofG world changers

Party ribbons and glitter [Photo: Shutterstock]

Seven new Fellows join the RSE

The following UofG academics have been made Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE), Scotland's National Academy:

  • Professor Tara Brendle, Professor and Head of Mathematics, School of Mathematics & Statistics, College of Science & Engineering
  • Professor Ian Brown, Honorary Senior Research Fellow, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts
  • Professor Heather Ferguson, Professor of Medical Entomology & Disease Ecology, Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health & Comparative Medicine, College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences
  • Dr Nikolaj Gadegaard, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, James Watt School of Engineering, College of Science and Engineering
  • Professor Faye Hammill, Professor of English Literature, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts
  • Professor Matthias Marti, Professor of Molecular Parasitology, Institute of Infection, Immunity & Inflammation, College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences
  • Professor Jennifer Smith, Professor of Sociolinguistics, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts.

These new Fellows will join the RSE’s current roll of around 1,600 leading thinkers and practitioners from Scotland and beyond, whose work has a significant impact on our nation.

Recognition for top geographer

The Royal Geographical Society, with the Institute of British Geographers, has awarded Glasgow Professor of Geography Christopher Philo the Society's Victoria Medal, in recognition of his promotion and contribution to research in health, social and cultural geographies.

Welsh honour for mathematician

Glasgow Professor of Mathematics Gwyn Bellamy is among the new entrants to the Learned Society of Wales’ Fellowship.  He joins 44 other new Fellows, all of whom share a link with Wales, its universities or intellectual life and are drawn from all specialisms.