First HEA Principal Fellowship for a University Teacher

Published: 29 November 2016

Dr Bethan Wood from the School of Interdisciplinary Studies is UofG's first University Teacher to be awarded a Principal Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.

Dr Bethan Wood, Senior University Teacher in the School of Interdisciplinary Studies in Dumfries, is the University of Glasgow’s first University Teacher to be awarded a Principal Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy.

HEA Principal Fellowships are the highest level of award granted by the Academy and recognise a "sustained, effective record of strategic impact at institutional, national or international level and a commitment to wider strategic leadership in teaching". Fellowship of the HEA is closely aligned to the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF) which "benchmarks success within HE teaching and learning support".

Opportunities and support

Bethan told Campus e-News: "I joined the University in 2003 as a University Teacher after a career in secondary education. Teaching secondary pupils was an invaluable grounding for teaching students in higher education!

"Since then I have been given many opportunities to develop my HE learning and teaching skills, and been able to propose and develop two degree programmes for the School.

"Colleagues in the School, at the main campus, and externally have supported me at every stage as my roles developed. The award of Principal Fellowship recognises my efforts and is something of which I am very proud."

Could you be a RET fellow?

Recognising Excellence in Teaching (RET) is the University's professional development scheme, accredited by the HEA, which celebrates colleagues who are passionate about learning and teaching. 

This is a dual award: by successfully participating in RET you will be awarded a Glasgow RET Fellowship AND a Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy. So far UofG has a total of 800 fellows across the four catergories: Associate Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow and Principal Fellow. 

To find out more, see Recognising Excellence in Teaching.

First published: 29 November 2016