Annual Fees

5.1  The fee payable for Session 2017-18 can be found on the University website at www.gla.ac.uk/study/fees/. The fee is for registration, for tuition, for the use of laboratories and for one entry to the examinations appropriate to the course. It also includes, in the case of full-time students (but not for students of Associated Institutions), Students’ Union fees.


5.2 All fees are payable on Registration. Details of methods of payment can be found on the University website at www.gla.ac.uk/study/fees/. Students who do not meet their obligation to pay tuition fees by due dates may incur financial and non-financial penalties.

5.3 Students who have not completed registration and arranged payment of fees shall not be permitted to attend their programmes of study.

5.4 Students who have obtained permission, or are required, to withdraw from the University during the course of a Session may apply to the Registry for a refund of tuition fees. Details of the refund policy are published on the University website at www.gla.ac.uk/students/money/fees/policies/refund/.

Definition of an International Student for Fee Purposes

5.5 In accordance with The Education (Fees and Awards) Regulations, 1983 (as amended), higher (international) levels of fee are payable by students who do not have a ‘relevant connection’ with the United Kingdom.

5.6  Students who have a ‘relevant connection’ will be charged the home levels of fee. In order to establish this ‘relevant connection’, certain elements are required, as follows:

a) the student has been ordinarily resident in the UK throughout the three­ year period preceding 1 September, 1 January or 1 April closest to the beginning of the first term of his/her course; and

b) the student has not been resident therein, during any part of that three-year period, wholly or mainly for the purpose of receiving full-time education; and

c) any international applicant who satisfies the ordinarily resident criteria in (a) and (b) must also have settled status in the United Kingdom (i.e., there must be no restriction on the length of stay in the UK).

Conditions (a), (b) and (c) must be satisfied in order that the student may establish the ‘relevant connection’, and be liable for the home level of fee.

5.7  Excepted Students. There are certain categories of ‘excepted students’ who, although they do not have a ‘relevant connection’ with the UK are liable to pay only the home rates of fee. These include: 

  • refugees recognised in the UK, their spouses and children;
  • persons granted exceptional leave to remain or enter as the result of an asylum application, their spouses and children;
  • a national of the EU[1] or a national of a British[2] or EU Overseas Territory,[3] or a family member of either, meeting residence requirements in the EEA,[4] Switzerland or the EU overseas territories;
  • reciprocal exchange students;
  • EEA migrant workers in the UK, their spouses and children.

Further details regarding the definition and exceptions can be provided by the International & Postgraduate Service on request, or reference made to the Regulations referred to above.

5.8  The fee paying status of a student determined at the time of admission to a degree programme will not change during the duration of that programme, apart from circumstances in where legislation requires that the status be changed, such as the award of refugee status.

[1] Currently: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (including the overseas Departments of Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Reunion), Andorra, Monaco, Germany,  Hungary, Greece, the Republic of Ireland, Italy, San Marino, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (excluding the Canary Islands), Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

[2] British Overseas territories are Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antartic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, South Georgia & the South Sandwich Isles, St. Helena & Dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan de Cunha) and Turks & Caicos Islands.

[3] EU Overseas Territories are Aruba, Faroe Islands, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antartic Territories, Greenland Henderson, Mayotte, Netherlands Antilles (Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St. Eustatius and St. Marten), New Caledonia and Dependencies, St. Pierre et Miquelon and Wallis and Futuna Islands.

[4] The EEA also includes Iceland, Norway (including Svalbard) and Leichtenstein.

Back to Contents List