Zones of Discretion for Honours Classification and PGT Awards for Merit and Distinction

Senate endorsed the decision by the Education, Policy & Strategy Committee that there should be NO CHANGE to the zones of discretion used by Honours and PGT Examination Boards.

A previous proposal to narrow the zones of discretion had been deferred by Senate in June 2011 pending wider consultation across the University. On the completion of this exercise it had been found that there was significant activity in promoting students to higher classifications when they fell in the .1 - .4 range and therefore narrowing the zones of discretion to .5 - .9 would impact on this. It had therefore been concluded that there should be no narrowing of the
discretionary zones for Honours Classifications or PGT awards of merit and distinction.

As set out in the University’s Code of Assessment, the zones of discretion for Honours classifications remain at the following the grade point average ranges:

17.1 to 17.9 either first or upper second class honours
14.1 to 14.9 either upper or lower second class honours
11.1 to 11.9 either lower second or third class honours
8.1 to 8.9 either lower third class honours or fail

As set out in the PGT Generic Regulations, the zones of discretion remain at:

17.1 to 17.9 discretion to award Distinction
14.1 to 14.9 discretion to award Merit

Work is currently underway to establish clear guidance for Examination Boards on the exercise of discretion, and this will be reported to Senate in due course.

April 2012