Honorary Degrees 2008

The full list of those who received honorary degrees is as follows:

Degree of Doctor of Engineering (DEng) 

Dr Ian Nussey
Chairman of IBM UK’s Technical Consultancy Group and leader of IBM UK’s high-flier student programme 

Degree of Doctor of Letters (DLitt) 

Professor David Breeze 
Honorary Professor of the University of Edinburgh and Head of Special Heritage Projects, Historic Scotland 
Professor John Haldane 
Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Centre for Ethics, Philosophy and Public Affairs at the University of St Andrews 
Professor Jackie Kay 
Scottish poet and novelist 
Professor Andrew MacMillan 
Formerly joint senior partner with Isi Metzstein in the Glasgow architectural practice of Gillespie, Kidd & Coia, and professor and former Head of the Mackintosh School of Architecture 
Professor Isi Metzstein 
Formerly joint senior partner with Andrew MacMillan in the Glasgow architectural practice of Gillespie, Kidd & Coia, and former Forbes Professor of Architecture in the University of Edinburgh 
Denise Mina 
Law graduate of this University and novelist 

Degree of Doctor of Science (DSc) 

Dr Derek Chalmers 
Life sciences graduate of this University, CEO and President of Cara Therapeutics in Tarrytown, NY 
Dr Betsy Nabel 
Director of the US National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
Chairman and Managing Director of Biocon, Ltd, Bangalore
Dr Ian Sword
Chemistry graduate and Chairman of Inveresk Research Group Inc.
Professor Judith Ann Whitworth
Director of the John Curtin School of Medical Research at the Australian National University

Degree of Doctor of the University (DUniv)

John Greig
Former footballer, Captain of Glasgow Rangers and Scotland
James Allan McColl
Chairman and Chief Executive of Clyde Blowers, Ltd
Billy McNeill
Former footballer, Captain of Glasgow Celtic and Scotland
Elaine C. Smith
Scottish actress and comedienne
Professor Muhammad Yunus
Managing Director, Grameen Bank