Honorary Degrees 2007

The following received the award of an Honorary Degree of the University of Glasgow in 2007:

Degree of Doctor of Divinity (DD) 

The Reverend Professor Keith Ward
Formerly Regius Professor of Divinity at the University of Oxford 

Degree of Doctor of Engineering (DEng)

Professor Olgierd Zienkiewicz 
Emeritus Professor and former Director of the Institute for Numerical Methods in Engineering at the University of Wales 


Degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD) 

Hon Sir Nicolas Bratza 
Judge at the European Court of Human Rights 
His Excellence Paul Kagame
President of Rwanda

Degree of Doctor of Letters (DLitt) 

Harry Benson
Boyle Family (Joan Hills, Georgia Boyle and Sebastian Boyle) 
Collaborative artists 
A L Kennedy
Professor Derick Thomson 
Poet & Emeritus Professor of Celtic, University of Glasgow 

Degree of Doctor of Science (DSc)

Professor Sir Michael V Berry
Royal Society Research Professor, University of Bristol
Professor Dame Carol Black
Professor of Rheumatology, Royal Free & University College Medical School and former President, Royal College of Physicians
Dr Harry Burns
Chief Medical Officer for Scotland
Professor Joëlle Coutaz

Computer Scientist, Professor 'Classe Exceptionelle', University of Grenoble, France 

Professor Peter Hagoort
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Dr John Hall
Fellow, JILA Research Institute at the University of Colorado, United States
Professor Sir Roddy MacSween
Emeritus Professor of Pathology, University of Glasgow
Emeritus Professor H Keith Moffat
Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Centre for Mathematical Sciences 

Degree of Doctor of the University (DUniv)

Reverend Douglas N Alexander
Churchman and advocate for social justice
Olivia Giles
Volunteer Fundraiser
Donald Kaberuka
President, African Development Bank
Rachel Lomax
Deputy Governor, Bank of England
Shonaig MacPherson
Chair, National Trust for Scotland
Susan Rice CBE
Chief Executive, Lloyds TSB Scotland

Degree of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine & Surgery (DVMS)

Professor John M Preston
International Animal Pharmaceuticals Industrialist and former Executive Chairman, Merial Ltd.