CIVIS Alliance welcomes tenth member university

Published: 15 November 2021

Paris Lodron University of Salzburg (PLUS) will be the first Austrian University in the CIVIS Alliance

Paris Lodron University of Salzburg (PLUS) has been welcomed as the tenth member of the CIVIS Alliance, and the first Austrian University in the CIVIS European family.

CIVIS is funded by the EU through the European Universities initiative under the ERASMUS+ programme. The University of Glasgow is an associate member of the group which brings together nine leading research universities from nine countries across Europe, with the goal to create a truly European interuniversity space to facilitate collaboration across national borders between academics and researchers. 

The alliance aims to tackle major societal challenges of the 21st century focused on five thematic challenges:

  • Health
  • Cities, territories and mobilities
  • Digital and Technological transformation
  • Climate, environment and energy
  • Society, culture, heritage.

The CIVIS Alliance offers a range of engagement opportunities for staff and students – you can read more about these on the University’s CIVIS webpages.

For the CIVIS Alliance, the addition of the PLUS will bring expertise in – amongst others – digital humanities, life sciences and international networking and will add a second member from German-speaking Europe. With almost 18,000 students and around 2,900 employees, the PLUS is the largest educational institution in Salzburg and a vital meeting place for teachers and students, academia and the general public.

CIVIS, a European Civic University, is an Alliance of the nine following European Universities: Aix-Marseille Université (France), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece), University of Bucharest (Romania), Université libre de Bruxelles (Belgium), Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain), Sapienza Università di Roma (Italia), Stockholm University (Sweden), Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (Germany), University of Glasgow (UK). Selected by the European Commission as one of the first 17 European Universities pilots, it brings together some 450,000 students and 65,000 staff members.

First published: 15 November 2021