Principal to chair Expert Group on EU Membership

Published: 28 June 2016

First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, has announced that UofG Principal, Professor Anton Muscatelli, will chair a group of experts to advise the Scottish Government on securing Scotland’s relationship with the EU.

The First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, has announced that Professor Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glasgow, will chair a group of experts to advise the Scottish Government on securing Scotland’s relationship with the EU.Anton 450

The Standing Council on Europe comprises specialists in legal, financial, business and diplomatic matters.

The First Minister made the announcement during a statement to Parliament on the outcome of the EU referendum.

Ms Sturgeon said: “The Scottish Government’s over-riding objective is to protect Scotland’s relationship with and place in the European Union. The Standing Council on Europe will provide advice on how best to achieve those objectives.

“More than 60% of voters in Scotland wanted to stay in the EU to protect the jobs, investment and trade that depend on it. We chose to be an open, inclusive and outward-looking society where other EU citizens are welcome to live, work and contribute, and we voted to protect the freedom and prosperity that comes with our rights to travel, live, work and study in other European countries.

“We now need to set out and evaluate all the impacts of the referendum result and all of the options open to Scotland to secure our relationship with the EU. The Council draws on a breadth and wealth of knowledge and experience, comprising specialists with backgrounds in business, finance, economics, European and diplomatic matters, and it will encompass a range of political and constitutional opinions.

“Members will consider the impact of proposed changes to the UK’s relationship with the EU on Scottish interests and advise Ministers throughout our negotiations on the best way to secure Scottish interests and objectives.”

Commenting on his appointment Professor Muscatelli said: “I am honoured to have been asked to chair this important group. The Brexit vote has created great uncertainty. The expert panel brings together talented individuals from diverse backgrounds and perspectives who will offer advice to the Scottish Government on a range of issues in the crucial weeks and months ahead.”

Membership of the Standing Council will be flexible to ensure Ministers have access to appropriate advice as required.

  • Anton Muscatelli is Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of Glasgow.
  • Vasco Cal is an economist and worked as an Economic Adviser in the Bureau of European Policy Advisers of the European Commission.
  • Professor Sir David Edward is Professor Emeritus at the School of Law, University of Edinburgh and was Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, 1992-2004.
  • David Frost is chief executive of the Scotch Whisky Association and previously worked as Director for Europe, Trade, and International Affairs at the Department for Business, Innovation, and Skills.
  • Dame Anne Glover was the first Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission between 2012 and 2015.
  • Charles Grant helped to found the Centre for European Reform in 1996, was a director and trustee of the British Council and is a member of the international advisory boards of the Moscow School of Civic Education, the Turkish think-tank EDAM and the French think-tank Terra Nova.
  • John Kay is one of Britain’s leading economists. His career has spanned academic work and think tanks, business schools, company directorships, consultancies and investment companies.
  • Lord Kerr was Foreign Office Permanent-Under-Secretary from 1997 to 2002. In 2004 he became an (independent) member of the House of Lords, where he serves on the EU Economic Affairs Select Committee.
  • Dame Mariot Leslie joined the British Diplomatic Service in 1977 with a range of overseas postings as well as senior posts in the UK. Mariot was the UK's Permanent Representative to the North Atlantic Council between 2010 and 2014.
  • David Martin has been a Member of the European Parliament since 1984 and represents Scotland.
  • Amanda McMillan was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Aberdeen, Glasgow and Southampton (AGS) Airports Limited in December 2014 and is a qualified Chartered Accountant.
  • Professor Alan Miller was elected by the Scottish Parliament to become the first Chair of the Scottish Human Rights Commission in 2007 and served until March 2016.
  • Anne Richards is Chief Executive at M&G and was previously Head of Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) and Global Chief Investment Officer at Aberdeen Asset Management.
  • Frances Ruane has been an Associate Professor in the Department of Economics of Trinity College since 1991. She has also worked at the Industrial Development Authority, the Central Bank of Ireland and Queen's University, Kingston , Ontario and as Director of the Economic and Social Research Institute.
  • Professor Andrew Scott is an economist and has for many years researched and taught European economic integration. He is Professor of European Union Studies: Dean International (Europe) at University of Edinburgh and is Co-Director of the Europa Institute.
  • Grahame Smith is General Secretary of the Scottish Trades Union Congress (STUC).
  • Alyn Smith was elected to the European Parliament for the first time in 2004.
  • Fabian Zuleeg is Chief Executive of the European Policy Centre and has worked as an economic analyst in academia, the public and the private sector.



First published: 28 June 2016

<< June