Prof. Colin McInnes joins SSAC

Issued: Tue, 02 Feb 2016 10:43:00 GMT

Logo of the Scottish Science Advisory CouncilProfessor Colin McInnes MBE FRSE, James Watt Chair, Professor of Engineering Science at the University of Glasgow, has been appointed to a newly reconfigured Scottish Science Advisory Council (SSAC).

The Council's role is to advise Scottish Government Ministers. The appointment came into effect on Monday. Colin is one of seven leading Scottish scientists invited to join the Council.

The appointments follow an internal review of the SSAC’s role and remit, including how it provides advice on science-related issues to Government and the Chief Scientific Adviser.

The new members are:

  • Professor Paul Boyle CBE FBA FRSE, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester (Chair of SSAC)
  • Prof Iain Hunter, Research Professor of Molecular Microbiology, University of Strathclyde
  • Prof Colin McInnes MBE FRSE, James Watt Chair, Professor of Engineering Science, University of Glasgow
  • Prof Anna Meredith, Professor of Zoological and Conservation Medicine, University of Edinburgh
  • Prof Andrew Mount FRSC, Professor of Physical Electrochemistry and Dean of Research, University of Edinburgh
  • Prof Susan Rosser, Professor of Synthetic Biology, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Tara Spires-Jones, Reader and Chancellor’s Fellow, University of Edinburgh

The new members of the SSAC bring a wealth of science expertise, from research in space engineering and Alzheimer’s disease, to experience of working with industry and organisations across the UK and in Europe.

Commenting on his appointment and plans for the SSAC, new Chair Professor Paul Boyle said:

“This is an exciting time to be joining the SSAC. The independent scientific advice provided by the Council will be a vital part of the information that Ministers and policy officials across the Scottish Government will use to make robust decisions that will benefit Scotland’s future economy and society.”