Information on Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS)

Please note that the following undergraduate and postgraduate programmes require ATAS. 

If you are a postgraduate research student, you will be informed in your offer letter whether you will require ATAS. The CAH3 code for a PhD or research masters is linked to the research topic (not the programme) so we can only inform you of ATAS requirements once your proposed research has been assigned a CAH3 code by your supervisor.

If yours is not one of the exempt nationalities, then you will need to apply for an ATAS certificate before commencing your programme of study and applying for your visa or extension of stay. You can find a list of all subjects that require a valid ATAS certificate and the associated CAH codes on the Home Office webpages.

Please apply as early as possible as the process can take a number of months to complete.

The Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) was introduced on 1 November 2007. It is used to help stop the spread of knowledge and skills that could be used in the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) and their means of delivery. This is in common with other governments around the world. The ATAS is designed to ensure that people who are applying to study certain sensitive subjects in the UK do not have links to WMD programmes. You can find out more information about the scheme and ATAS certificate by visiting the UK Government website.

Please see the table below showing the CAH3 codes required to apply for an ATAS. 

Programmes requiring ATASNew CAH3 Code
Advanced Functional Materials MSc CAH07-01-01
Aeronautical Engineering MEng CAH10-01-04
Aerospace Engineering MSc CAH10-01-04
Aerospace Engineering & Management MSc CAH10-01-04
Aerospace Systems MEng CAH10-01-04
Astronomy and Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Chemical Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Chemical Physics with work placement MSci CAH07-01-01
Computing Science and Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Industrial Heterogeneous Catalysis MRes CAH-07-02-01
Mathematics and Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Mechanical Design Engineering MEng CAH10-01-02
Mechanical Engineering MEng CAH10-01-02
Mechanical Engineering MSc CAH10-01-02
Mechanical Engineering & Management MSc CAH10-01-02
Mechanical Engineering with Aeronautics MEng CAH10-01-02 CAH10-01-04
Medical Physics MSc CAH07-01-01
Nuclear and Environmental Physics MSc CAH07-01-01
Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Physics with Astrophysics MSci CAH07-01-01
Product Design Engineering MEng CAH10-01-02
Quantum Technology MSc CAH07-01-01
Theoretical Physics MSci CAH07-01-01
Theoretical Physics MSc CAH07-01-01

Please note there are a number of nationalities that are now completely exempt from the ATAS requirement: they are listed here under the “Nationals who are exempt” section