Professor Fiona Macpherson to sit on Arts and Humanities Research Council

Issued: Fri, 23 Mar 2018 11:05:00 GMT

 Professor Fiona Macpherson 650

The Board of UK Research and Innovation has confirmed the appointment of the Arts and Humanities Research Council’s new Council – the senior decision making body of the organisation.

The Council comes into effect with the launch of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) on 1 April 2018.

The Arts and Humanities Research Council members appointed by UK Research and Innovation includes School of Humanities | Sgoil nan Daonnachdan's Professor Fiona Macpherson, Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Centre for the Study of Perceptual Experience.

Professor Macpherson said: “I am delighted to have been appointed to the new AHRC Council. The transition to the new UKRI structure is an exciting moment to serve. I aim to ensure that Arts and Humanities are a central concern of UKRI. Serving on the old AHRC Council for the last few years has made me appreciate the tremendous depth, breadth and impact of Arts and Humanities Research in the United Kingdom.

"While we have over 30% of researchers in the UK, to date we have received less than 3% of the UK science budget. I also intend to ensure good communication, particularly in this time of change, between the Arts and Humanities community and the AHRC."

Professor Andrew Thompson, AHRC Chief Executive and Executive Chair Designate, said: “This is a very exciting time for the Arts and Humanities, and our Council will play a vital role in telling the story of the importance and impact of the research that we fund. I am delighted to welcome the members of our new Council, whose commitment to the Arts and Humanities will help to shape and strengthen our strategy as we enter UKRI. 

“I also want to express my sincere gratitude to the outgoing members of Council for their valued contribution and dedication to the AHRC.”

As part of the nine Councils of UKRI, the AHRC Council will work with Professor Thompson to deliver the AHRC’s aims and objectives and to support UKRI's overall mission to maintain the UK’s world-leading position in research and innovation. The AHRC Council members will also provide Professor Thompson, and UKRI more widely, with input, intelligence and feedback from their communities and stakeholder groups. The Council will act as a critical friend to the UKRI Board.

The members announced today – totalling 40 people across the Arts and Humanities Research Council and the Councils of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, Innovate UK, Medical Research Council and Science and Technology Facilities Council - reflect the diversity of communities that they represent coming from varied backgrounds and experiences including academia, business, policy, third sector and voluntary sector.

Professor Sir Mark Walport UK Research and Innovation Chief Executive Designate, commented: "I am delighted to welcome these new Council members. Their stimulus, support and challenge will provide a critical role in the development of strategy and the governance of UK Research and Innovation. The diversity of their personal backgrounds, experience and expertise will ensure that we make the very best choices in how to invest wisely in research and innovation and develop capability and capacity for the future."

The Arts and Humanities Research Council new members announced today:

  • Professor Hagan Bayley, Professor of Chemical Biology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Dame Janet Beer, Vice Chancellor, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Sir Drummond Bone, Master of Balliol College, University of Oxford
  • Deborah Bull, Assistant Principal (London), King’s College London
  • Professor Sir David Eastwood, Vice Chancellor and Principal, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Anthony Lilley, CEO & Chief Creative Officer, Magic Lantern Productions Ltd and Professor of Creative Industries at Ulster University
  • Dame Judith Macgregor DCMG LVO, former British High Commissioner to South Africa, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • Professor Fiona Macpherson, Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Centre for the Study of Perceptual Experience, University of Glasgow
  • Catherine Mallyon, Executive Director, Royal Shakespeare Company
  • Professor Greg Walker, Regius Professor of Rhetoric and English Literature, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Chris Wickham, Chichele Professor of Medieval History emeritus, University of Oxford, Professor of Medieval History, University of Birmingham

Find out more

<< 2018