School Leads

Director of School

Prof Chris Halsey

Head of School of Cancer Sciences

Prof Jeff Evans    

Director of CRUK Beatson Institute

Prof Owen Sansom     (PA Beatson PA)

Head of Professional Services

Dr Jacqueline Coutts

Regius Chair of Surgery

Prof Andrew Biankin   (PA Ms. Amanda Ewing)

Reguis Chair of Precision Medicine

Prof Ross Cagan

Postgraduate Research Convenor

Prof Joanne Edwards

Postgraduate Taught Convenor

Dr Karin Oien

Director of Research Impact, Professor of Molecular Oncology

Prof Nicol Keith

Administrative contacts and functions

Dr Jacqueline Coutts Head of Professional Services, School of Cancer Sciences

Amanda Ewing PA to Regius Professor of Surgery, General Admin, Finance, GIA Group support, Room bookings

Diane Verrecchia Section Administrator and PA to Director, POGLRC, Finance, HR & Recruitment, Open Access, General Admin

Susanne Hendry Finance, SCS Website, Student support, School newsletter, Social media, Athena SWAN communications, Room bookings

Angela Newlands Secretary to Director, POGLRC, Athena Swan, General Admin

Joanne Thomson Finance, BICR 144026, CRUK financial reporting, Room bookings

Anne Best SCS Management/Strategy Board, Finance, HR, Recruitment, CRUK/ECMC Glasgow Centre finance, MyCampus

Maureen Watt Admin support BWoSCC

Wendy Harvie Support to the SCS Director, PGR Student support, PGR Convenor Support (including Tier 4 administration) 

Steveen Ulysse Administrative Assistant


School Executive Group

Head of School Prof Chris Halsey
Deputy Head of School Prof Stephen Tait
Head of Professional Services Dr Jacqueline Coutts
Director of Education Prof Joanne Edwards
Director of Research Prof Gareth Inman
Director of Innovation Prof Hing Leung
PGR Convenor Dr Heather Jorgensen
ECR Representative Dr Fieke Froeling
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Representative Dr David Bryant
Finance Business Partner Mr John Richmond
Human Resources Business Partner Ms Shelley Hunt
Clerk Anne Best

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Stan Kaye (Professor of Medical Oncology, Institute of Cancer Research, Sutton, UK)
Prof. Wendy Bickmore (MRC Human Gentics Unit, Edinburgh, UK)
Prof. Hilary Calvert (Professor of Cancer Theraputics, UCL Cancer Institute, London, UK)
Prof. Tony Green (Professor of Haematology, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, UK)

SCS Knowledge Exchange & Impact Committee

Prof. Nicol Keith, Chair ICS Knowledge Exchange & Impact Committee (Professor of Molecular Oncology, Director of Research Impact)

Prof. Paul Shiels (Professor of Cellular Gerontology, International Lead)

Dr. Karin Oien (Clinical Senior Lecturer, Postgraduate Taught Convenor)

Dr. Helen Wheadon (Senior Lecturer, Postgraduate Research Convenor)

Prof. Rob Jones (Professor of Clinical Cancer Research, Director of CRUK Clinical Trials Unit)

Dr. Jacqueline Coutts (Head of Professional Services)

Dr. David Chang (Professor of Surgical Oncology)

Dr. Stefano Schipani (Senior Lecturer in Clinical Oncology)

Dr. Karen Keeshan (Senior Lecturer)

Prof. Stephen Tait (Professor of Mitochondria and Cell Death)