Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board meets annually to review and critique SIPHER’s developing research and outputs.

The board comprises experts from the international research community and is chaired by Professor Arpana Verma, Director of Manchester Urban Collaboration on Health (MUCH), University of Manchester.

Scientific Advisory Board Members

Professor Arpana Verma, Director of Manchester Urban Collaboration on Health (MUCH), University of Manchester  - Chair

Dr Adam Whitworth, Professor Work, Employment and Organisation, University of Strathclyde Glasgow

Dr Alexandra Macmillan, Associate Professor in Environmental Health, University of Otago, New Zealand

Professor Barry Gibson, Professor in Medical Sociology, University of Sheffield

Dr Brent Langellier, Associate Professor, Health Management and Policy, Drexel University, USA

Professor Brian Castellani, Professor of Sociology, University of Durham

Professor Christina Beatty, Professor of Applied Economic Geography, Centre for Regional Economic and Social Research (CRESR), Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Diane Finegood, Centre for Dialogue, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Professor Dimitris Ballas, Professor of Economic Geography, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Professor Graham Moore, Deputy Director of the Centre for Development Evaluation Complexity and Implementation in Public Health Improvement (DECIPHer), University of Cardiff

Professor Harry Rutter, Professor of Global Public Health, University of Bath

Dr Jo-An Occhipinti (formally Atkinson), Associate Professor and Head of Systems Modelling, Simulation &  Data Science, University of Sydney

Dr Jürgen Rehm, Senior Scientist, Institute for Mental Health Policy Research, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH), Canada

Professor Martin McKee, Professor of European Public Health, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM)

Professor Sir Michael Marmot, Professor of Epidemiology and Director of the UCL Institute of Health Equity, University College London

Dr Michele Cecchini, Head of Public Health, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Professor Mike Kelly, Honorary Senior Fellow, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge

Professor Olivia Wu, William R Lindsay Chair of Health Economics, University of Glasgow

Dr Patricia Mabry, Research Investigator, HealthPartners Institute

Inclusive Economies and Housing Advisory Group

SIPHER’s Advisory Group provides expert guidance for our developing research in the fields of inclusive economies and housing.

The group is chaired by Anne Green, Professor of Regional Economic Development at City-REDI at the University of Birmingham, and convenes twice a year.

Advisory Group Members

Anne Green, Professor of Regional Economic Development, City-REDI, University of Birmingham - Chair

Alan Harding, Independent Strategic Economic Advisor, Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA)

Ben Lucas, Managing Director, Metro Dynamics

Brendan Nevin, Housing and urban regeneration researcher

Charlotte Alldritt, Director, Centre for Progressive Policy

Clementine Hill O'Connor, Kentigern Research Fellow, University of Glasgow

Fiona Aldridge, Head of Skills Insight, West Midlands Combined Authority

Graeme Roy, Dean of External Engagement, University of Glasgow

Helen Simpson , Greater Manchester Health & Social Care Partnership & Tripartite Agreement Director

Henri Murison, Chief Executive, Northern Powerhouse Partnership

Henry Kippin, Director of Economic Growth, North Tyneside CA

Henry Overman, Professor of Economic Geography, London School of Economics

Julia Unwin, Former Chief Executive, Joseph Rowntree Foundation

Julie McLachlan, Community Wealth Building Legislation and Policy Manager, Director of Economic Development, Scottish Government

Ken Gibb, Director and Principal Investigator UK Collaborative Centre for Housing Evidence (CaCHE)

Philip Brown, Professor of Housing and Communities, University of Huddersfield

Rob Whiteman, Chief Executive, Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy

Tracy Harrison, Chief Executive Northern Housing Consortium