Professional Services and Technicians award winners announced

Published: 29 July 2021

Professional Services Excellence Awards and James Watt Technician Prize Winners Announced

In May we launched our James Watt Technician Prize and our Professional Services Excellence Awards, both designed to recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution and innovation made by colleagues. 

The University is fortunate to have colleagues who make a significant contribution to the life and work of the University, going well beyond what is expected from them in their day to day roles.  These annual awards are intended to recognise and promote the work of those individuals and teams who go the extra mile to make the University of Glasgow a great place to work or study and make a real contribution to the University’s success.

We have been blown away by the number of nominations received demonstrating exceptional work across the institution.  We intended to award 30 Professional Services Excellence Awards and one James Watt Technician Prize, however the quality of nominations meant we couldn’t stop there, and are thrilled to announce the winners for 2021.

Professional Services Excellence Awards

A remarkable 11 individual awards and 11 team awards, resulted in 86 individuals receiving a Professional Services Excellence Award.  The full list of award winners can be found on the Professional Services Excellence Awards webpage.

David Duncan, Chief Operating Officer, said, “These awards ensure that we celebrate the vital role that professional support staff play and the excellent work they do across the University. We were delighted by the calibre of the nominations for this year’s awards across the University and I would like to congratulate the winners and thank them for their outstanding contribution”

James Watt Technician Prize

Congratulations to the winner of the 2021 James Watt Technician Prize:

Ewan Russell, Technician, James Watt School of Engineering

And to the runners up:

John Pediani, Research Technologist, Research Institute Molecular Cell & Systems Biology

Nicholas Scott, Technician, James Watt School of Engineering

Professor Frank Coton, Vice Principal (Academic Planning & Technological Innovation) said “I am delighted we are able to recognise the contribution of our technicians through these awards.  Many congratulations to Ewan, John and Nicholas and heartfelt thanks to all our technicians across the institution – your role is essential and your contribution hugely important”

View the winners’ profiles on the James Watt Technician Prize Winners webpage.

Congratulations to all the Award and Prize winners and thank you to all those who nominated for sharing the fantastic work.  

First published: 29 July 2021