University Regulations 2021-22



Dean of Graduate Studies:  Professor Duncan Ross

Dean of Internationalisation:  Vacant

Dean of Learning & Teaching:  Professor Tom Scotto

Dean of Research:  Professor Sally Wyke

Contents List

Summary of Awards

The University awards the following degrees in the College of Social Sciences. These degrees may be awarded jointly with other institutions where the Senate has approved an agreement to this effect. Where such an agreement exists, the degree titles of the partner institution may be used for the award of joint degrees with the University of Glasgow.

Undergraduate Degrees

Bachelor of Accountancy (BAcc)
Bachellor of Arts (BA)
Bachelor of Community Learning & Development (Social Sciences) [BCLD (Social Sciences)]
Bachelor of Finance (BFin)
Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Bachelor of Technology Studies (BTechS)
Master of Arts (MA)
Master of Arts (Social Sciences) [MA (Social Sciences)]
Master of Design & Technologyl Education (MDTechEd)
Master of Education (MEduc)

Postgraduate Degrees

International Master (IntM)
Master of Accountancy (MAcc)
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Master of Education (MEd)
Master of Finance (MFin)
Master of Global Business (MGB)
Master of Laws (LLM)
Master of Laws Extended (LLM)
Master of Letters (MLitt)
Master of Medical Law and Ethics (MMLE)
Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
Master of Research (MRes)
Master of Science (MSc)
Doctor of Education (EdD)
Doctor of Laws (LLD)
Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Dates of Semesters*

Semester 1: 20th September 2021 - 17th December 2021
  Christmas Vacation: 20th December 2021 - 7th January 2022
Semester 2: 10th January 2022 - 27th May 2022
  Spring Vacation: 28th March 2022 - 15th April 2022

* Teaching dates may vary for the following programmes and will be published on the Senate Office website (

Degree of MDTechEd
Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)