Edward McGuire's String Trio II was the 2019 McEwen commision and was premiered by Rachel Spencer (violin), Felix Tanner (viola) and Duncan Strachan (cello) in the University Concert Hall on Thursday February 28th 2019. The piece, in three movements, is Eddie's third written under the auspices of the McEwen Commission following his Wind Octet in 1980 and 1975's Liberation.  This makes Eddie the McEwen's most commissioned composer - an accolade he holds jointly with Thomas Wilson (1959, 1961 and 1968).  The 2019 commission benefited from additional funding from the Ferguson Bequest.

The premiere paired Eddie's new piece with one of the oldest string trios, Mozart’s Divertimento for String Trio in E♭, k.563.

Decorative design element

Listen to… the String Trio II premiere

Programme note
Edward McGuire (b. 1948) - String Trio II

    1. Dramatico
    2. Con brio
    3. Ritmico

Performer biographies & full details of the premiere can be found in the McEwen concert programme 2019