Female student in a laboratory, Wellcome Trust PhD Programme, University of Glasgow

Supervisors and projects

The IIB supervisor pool will be over 50 senior investigators, early career researchers (ECR) and international supervisors from collaborating institutions.

To provide the highest level of support and training, we offer a co-supervisory model, with every student mentored across disciplinary and/or international boundaries.

Primary supervisors will be established infectious disease researchers with substantial funding and training records, and students will join well resourced laboratories with post-doctoral and senior research staff offering inbuilt technical expertise and day-to-day support.

Each student will have a dedicated thesis committee composed of their primary and co-supervisors and two additional ‘assessors’, inclusive of a management team member. The assessors provide independent assessment and pastoral care, and can feed back on supervisor performance.

Thesis committees will be gender balanced and inclusive of ECRs providing fresh, diverse perspectives. Students will meet assessors, independently of their supervisors quarterly, with flexible additional meetings as required. Based on UoG best-practice, a formal annual review will be completed, including reports from the student, supervisors, and assessors and overseen by the local PGR convenor.

Supervisor Movies

Each supervisor will produce a short movie to give students a flavour of their lab, research, and what their project may look like. Examples of these can be found here. 

Prof David Bhella

Dr Julia Cordero

Dr Gill Douce

Prof Heather Ferguson

Dr Clare Harding

Dr Megan MacLeod

Prof Matthias Marti

Dr Katarzyna Modrzynska

Dr Chris Moxon

Prof Andrew Roe

Dr Lilach Sheiner

Prof Annette MacLeod

Prof Richard McCulloch

Prof Paul Garside

Prof Andy Waters

Supervisor List

Simon Babayan - Epidemiology and ecology of infectious diseases
David Bhella - Structural Biology 
Benjamin Brennan
Sarah Cleaveland - Comparative Epidemiology
Julia Cordero - Epigenetics
Gill Douce - Pathogenesis and virulence
Heather Ferguson - Vector biology
Paul Garside - Immunology 
Eva Gluenz - Parasitology
Gerry Graham - Immunology
Jo Halliday - Epidemiology and ecology of infectious diseases
Katie Hampson - Ecology of Infectious Diseases
Clare Harding - Parasitology
Virginia Howick - Epidemiology and ecology of infectious diseases
Daniel Haydon - Population ecology and epidemiology
Antonia Ho - Infectious diseases
Edward Hutchinson - Molecular Biology
Roz Laing - Parasite genomics and drug resistance
Poppy Lamberton - Epidemiology and ecology of infectious diseases
Annette MacLeod - Biodiversity, Animal Health & Comparative Medicine
Megan MacLeod - Immunology
Rick Maizels - Parasitology
Kevin Maloy - Immunology
Matt Marti - Parasitology
Richard McCulloch - Pathogen molecular biology and genetics 
Iain McInnes - Immunology
Katarzyna Modrzynska - Parasitology
Christopher Moxon - Parasitology
Robert Nibbs - Immunology
Massimo Palmarini - Biology and pathogenesis of livestock diseases
Anna Pearce - Socioeconomic inequalities in health
David Robertson - Viral genomics and bioinformatics
Andy Roe - Bacteriology
Lilach Sheiner - Pathogen molecular biology and genetics
Steven Sinkins - Microbiology and tropical medicine
Dan Streicker - Evolutionary biology 
Emma Thomson - Pathogen molecular biology and genetics
Andrew Tobin - Anti-pathogen drug development 
Daniel Walker - Anti-pathogen drug development
Andy Waters - Parasitology
Sam Wilson - Pathogenesis and virulence 


Co-Supervisor List

Early Career Researchers will Co-Supervise PhD projects:

Simon Babayan 
Benjamin Brennan
Julia Cordero
Claire Harding
Antonia Ho
Edward Hutchinson
Katarzyna Modrzynska
Chris Moxon
Anna Pearce

Co-Supervisors with expertise in fields outside infectious disease include:

Andrew Biankin - Tumour biology
Neil Bulleid  - Protein structure
Nicholas Hanley - One Health Economics
Richard Hartley - Drug design
David McAllister - Multimorbidity
Graeme Milligan - Cellular biochemistry
Thomas Otto - Bioinformatics
Richard Reeve - Population and ecosystem health
Helen Walden - Protein structure


In addition, PhD students may select Co-Supervisors at overseas partner institutions, including:

Matthew Cotten - Uganda
Mia Crampin - Malawi
Alison Elliott - Uganda
Markus Meissner - Ludwig-Maximillian University, Munich
Henry Mwandumba - Malawi
Frances Ndungu - Kenya
Karl Seydel - Malawi