Committees & memberships

Governmental and non-Governmental Policy and Advisory Committees (in the last 10 years)

  1. Member Technical Advisory Group – Scottish Government Inland Fisheries review 2014 – current
  2. Expert Adviser CABI (Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International) 2011- present.
  3. Member: Defra UK Crayfish Working Group  2011-present.
  4. Member: UK Sustainable Eel Group 2011-present.
  5. Member: IUCN/Wetlands International Freshwater Fish Specialist Group 2011-present.
  6. Member: IUCN Anguillid Specialist Group 2011-present.
  7. Member: EIFAAC [European Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture Advisory Commission] Technical & Scientific Committee 2011-present.
  8. Member: Scottish Government Tripartite Working Group 2003 – present.
  9. Expert Adviser: Scottish Government Fisheries Committee 2003-2009.
  10. Co-opted Member: Scottish Fisheries Co-ordination Centre [SFCC] Committee 2008-present.
  11. Member: Scottish Government Fish and Fisheries Forum 2006-present.
  12. Member: SEPA Fish and Fisheries Advisory Group 2009 –present.
  13. Expert Adviser: Defra Invasive Non-Native Species Secretariat 2007-present.
  14. Expert Adviser: European Environment Agency 2009-present.
  15. External Peer Reviewer: Scottish Government Marine Scotland Science projects 2009-present.
  16. Expert Adviser: European Topic Centre on Biological Diversity 2010-present.
  17. Expert Adviser: Scottish Anglers National Association 1995-1999.
  18. Expert Adviser: Anglers Co-operative Association (now FishLegal) 1995-1999.
  19. Member: Secretary of State for Scotlands’ Advisory Committee for Fish Protection Orders 1996-1999.

Membership of Learned Societies

  • Council member of the Fisheries Society of the British Isles.
  • Member of the Freshwater Biological Association. 

Membership of Academic Science Committees

  1. Member: Natural Environment Research Council [NERC] Peer Review College 2011-present.
  2. Chair: FSBI Studentship Committee 2013-present (Member 2010-2014)
  3. Council Member: Fisheries Society of the British Isles 2010-present.