Institute Professor wins University Postdoc Mentor of the Year award

Published: 3 March 2016

Congratulations to Professor Pat Monaghan who won the Postdoc Mentor of the Year award on Thursday 3rd March, at the University Research Staff Conference. This is the second time in a row an Institute member has won the award.

Pat Monaghan wins Postdoc Mentor of the Year award. Image: Dr Bart Adriaenssens.

Congratulations to Professor Pat Monaghan who was awarded the University Postdoc Mentor of the Year award at the University Research Staff Conference on Thursday 3rd March.

The award celebrates staff members who take on mentor roles for those in the early stages of their academic career. In particular, it acknowledges those who give generously of their time to provide not only professional guidance to early career academics, but also much needed pastoral support.

The characteristics looked for in a good mentor included an open door policy, a willingness to put their mentee at the forefront of collaborations, an ability to create opportunities and networks, and most importantly a generosity of spirit. A good mentor also supports their mentee to follow their own path, whether that be in academia or not.

The award was presented by Professor Miles Padgett, Vice Principal for Research, and Institute postdoc Dr Valeria Marasco.

This is the second year running that an Institute mentor has won the award, with Professor Neil Evans winning the award at the Research Staff Conference last year.

Follow us on Twitter (@IBAHCM) or Facebook for all the latest news and up to date conversation.

First published: 3 March 2016