University of Glasgow scientists named Royal Society of Edinburgh Prizewinners

Published: 13 April 2015

University of Glasgow scientists have been named as the recipients of prestigious awards from the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Dr Tiziana Lembo is amongst them.

University of Glasgow scientists have been named as the recipients of prestigious awards from the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The RSE has chosen a total of eight 2015 Prizewinners in recognition of their outstanding academic talent, six of whom are based at the University of Glasgow. The annual awards are made to pre-eminent individuals who have reached the pinnacle of their discipline, and those who are showing great potential in the early stages of their career.

President of the RSE, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, said, “This year’s recipients reflect the RSE’s Enlightenment spirit and its continued remit to advance learning and useful knowledge. I offer my warmest congratulations to all of them all.”

Professor Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glasgow, said: “I’d like to congratulate all six of our prizewinners for their well-deserved awards. Their success is a testament to the world-leading expertise across our Colleges of Science and Engineering and Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences. I’m particularly proud that both early-career researchers and more established talents have been recognised by the Royal Society of Edinburgh.”

The RSE’s 2015 Prizewinners from the University of Glasgow are:

Professor Lee Cronin, Regius Chair of Chemistry at the School of Chemistry, has been awarded the BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation in recognition of his pioneering work to explore new routes to solar-fuels. He will deliver a lecture entitled ‘Removing the Fossil from the Fuel’ at the RSE on 20 April 2015.

Professor Martin Hendry, Head of the School of Physics and Astronomy, receives the RSE Senior Public Engagement Prize for his exceptional and sustained track record on science engagement with the general public, schools, societies and science festivals throughout the world.

Dr Stefan Hild, Reader in Experimental Physics, School of Physics and Astronomy, receives the RSE/Makdougall Brisbane Medal, an early career prize, for his outstanding work in the field, and in recognition of his international profile. Dr Hild is also a Member of the RSE Young Academy of Scotland.

Dr Tiziana Lembo, Research Fellow at the Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health and Comparative Medicine, is awarded the RSE/Patrick Neill Medal, an early career prize, for her breadth of expertise in veterinary medicine including data analysis, zoonotic disease, and public and animal health in the developing world.

Professor Iain McInnes, Director of the Institute of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation, receives the RSE/Sir James Black Medal for his outstanding contribution to the field of immunology through his work in establishing the GLAZgo Discovery Centre, which aims to create better medicines for patients.

Dr Mhairi Stewart of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Molecular Parasitology, is awarded the RSE Innovator’s Public Engagement Prize for her approach to using creativity as a tool for community engagement, particularly in creating collaborative activities between art and science.

First published: 13 April 2015