Outstanding researchers and academics from the University join Scotland’s National Academy

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has welcomed 56 new Fellows – eight from the University of Glasgow.

Scotland’s National Academy has elected Fellows from a number of sectors ranging from the arts, business, science and technology and academy. They join the current Fellowship whose varied expertise supports the advancement of learning and useful knowledge in Scottish public life.

Professor Anton Muscatelli, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Glasgow, said: “I am delighted that eight of the 56 new Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh come from the University of Glasgow. They represent research interests across the breadth of the University and are evidence of the depth of our research base. I congratulate each one.”

As Scotland’s National Academy, the RSE’s strength lies in the breadth of disciplines represented by its Fellowship. This range of expertise enables the RSE to take part in a host of activities such as providing independent and expert advice to Government and Parliament, supporting aspiring entrepreneurs through mentorship, facilitating education programmes for young people and engaging the general public through educational events.  

The eight new Fellows from the University of Glasgow are:

Professor Sarah Birch

Professor John Christie

Professor David Gaimster

Professor David Heald

Professor Allan Mowat

Carol Tannahill

Professor Kostas Tokatlidis

Professor Paul Younger

Media enquiries: liz.buie@glasgow.ac.uk / 0141 330 2702

First published: 8 March 2016

<< March