Glasgow congratulates eight new fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Published: 15 March 2007

Eight University of Glasgow experts are among those recently elected as new Fellows of The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Following in the footsteps of distinguished predecessors such as Sir Walter Scott, Lord Kelvin and James Clerk Maxwell, eight University of Glasgow experts are among those elected as new Fellows of The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE). Chosen in recognition of significant achievement in their fields and contribution to public service, a broad spectrum of expertise is represented in the new list of sixty Fellows.

An independent, educational charity, one of the key strengths of the RSE is its multidisciplinary make-up, with 1400 experts of national and international standing representing excellence across the subject disciplines.

President of The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Sir Michael Atiyah, OM, FRS, PRSE, HonFREng, HonFMedSci, Hon FFA said:
"I am delighted to be able to welcome such an outstanding array of new Fellows to the Society. Conferring the accolade of Fellowship on individuals recognised as amongst the best minds in Scotland and around the world, is the beginning, not the end, of the Society's purpose. The collective expertise and experience of the Fellowship enables the RSE to uphold its Royal Charter of 1783 for the "advancement of learning and useful knowledge" and deliver meaningful, public-benefit activities today."

Cogratulations are extended to our colleagues:
Professor Jim D Gallagher CB, Professor of Government, University of Glasgow;

Professor David A F Gillespie, Professor of Molecular Cell Biology, University of Glasgow; Research Group Leader, Beatson Institute;

Professor Tessa L Holyoake, Professor of Experimental Haematology, University of Glasgow; Honorary Consultant Haematologist, Royal Infirmary Glasgow;

Professor Ruth F Jarrett, Professor of Molecular Pathology & Head of Division of Pathological Sciences, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Glasgow;

Professor Kennedy R Lees, Professor of Cerebrovascular Medicine, University of Glasgow;

Professor Kenneth E L McColl, Professor of Gastroenterology, University of Glasgow; Honorary Consultant, Western Infirmary;

Professor Adrienne C Scullion, James Arnott Professor of Drama and Head of Theatre Studies, University of Glasgow;

Professor Hugh J Willison, Professor of Clinical Neurosciences & Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Southern General Hospital, Glasgow.

Media Relations Office (

First published: 15 March 2007

<< March