Calendar 2018-19



Dean of Graduate Studies:  Dr Duncan Ross

Dean of Internationalisation:  Dr Clare McManus

Dean of Learning & Teaching:  Professor Moira Fischbacher-Smith

Dean of Research:  Professor Catherine Schenk

Contents List

Summary of Awards

The University awards the following degrees in the College of Social Sciences. These degrees may be awarded jointly with other institutions where the Senate has approved an agreement to this effect. Where such an agreement exists, the degree titles of the partner institution may be used for the award of joint degrees with the University of Glasgow.

Undergraduate Degrees

Bachelor of Accountancy (BAcc)
Bachellor of Arts (BA)
Bachelor of Community Learning & Development (Social Sciences) [BCLD (Social Sciences)]
Bachelor of Education (BEd)
Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Bachelor of Technological Education (BTechEd)
Bachelor of Technology Studies (BTechS)
Master of Arts (MA)
Master of Arts (Social Sciences) [MA (Social Sciences)]
Master of Education (MEduc)

Postgraduate Degrees

International Master (IntM)
Master of Accountancy (MAcc)
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Master of Education (MEd)
Master of Finance (MFin)
Master of Laws (LLM)
Master of Laws Extended (LLM)
Master of Letters (MLitt)
Master of Medical Law and Ethics (MMLE)
Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
Master of Research (MRes)
Master of Science (MSc)
Doctor of Education (EdD)
Doctor of Laws (LLD)
Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Dates of Semesters*

Semester 1: 17th September 2018 - 14th December 2018
  Christmas Vacation: 17th December 2018 - 4th January 2019
Semester 2: 7th January 2019 - 24th May 2019
  Spring Vacation: 25th March 2019 - 12th April 2019

* Teaching dates may vary for the following programmes (please consult programme information):

Degrees of BTechEd

Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)