UK Malaysia University Consortium

The aim of the new UK Malaysia University Consortium (UK-MUC) is to promote mutual understanding on a global scale by expanding international higher education in terms of teaching, research and knowledge exchange between the UK and Malaysia. 

Under the Going Global Partnerships Programme, the British Council in Malaysia launched the UK-Malaysia University Consortium which is designed to be a flagship initiative that promotes strategic engagement and bilateral cooperation in higher education between its partner universities in the UK and in Malaysia.


  • Build a mechanism to increase commitment and strategic partnerships to address shared priorities between universities in the UK and Malaysia.
  • Support the advancement of quality teaching, learning, research and university systems through people development with shared expertise between the UK and Malaysia.
  • Identify and facilitate innovative UK-Malaysia collaborative programmes and knowledge exchange in higher education for mutual benefit and HE internationalisation.


United Kingdom: 
Cardiff University; Cardiff Metropolitan University; Coventry University; Kings College London; Liverpool John Moores University; Scotland's Rural College; University of Bournemouth; University of Central Lancashire; University of East Anglia; University of Glasgow; University of Gloucestershire; University of Nottingham; University of Portsmouth; University of Suffolk; University of Surrey; University of York.

Malaysia: Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM); Universiti Malaya (UM); Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS); Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM); International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM); Islamic Science University of Malaysia (USIM); MARA University of Technology (UiTM); National Defence University of Malaysia (UPNM); Northern University of Malaysia (UUM); Putra University of Malaysia (UPM); Sultan Idris Education University (UPSI); Sultan Zainal Abidin University (UniSZA); Technical University of Malaysia (UTEM); Tun Hussein Onn University of Malaysia (UTHM); University of Malaysia, Kelantan (UMK); University of Malaysia, Pahang (UMP); University of Malaysia, Perlis (UNIMAP); University of Malaysia, Sabah (UMS).