Research Students & Projects

This section lists our current research students and their ongoing projects.

Community Oral Health Research Students

Yulia Anopa 
PhD Title: Economics of paediatric caries prevention in pre-school children
Supervisors: Prof Emma McIntosh, Prof Lorna Macpherson
email: yulia.anopa@glasgow.ac.uk  
Yulia Anopa
Andres Celis 
PhD Title: Evaluation of Sembrando Sonrisas – the national child oral health improvement programme in Chile. 
Supervisors: Dr Alex McMahon, Prof David Conway, Prof Lorna Macpherson,  
Andres Celis
Grant Creaney
PhD Title: Healthcare Systems Factors in Late Stage Diagnosis of Head and Neck Cancer in Europe and South America
Supervisors: Dr Alastair Ross, Prof David Conway
email: g.creaney.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Grant Creaney smiling to the camera
Jamie Dickie 
PhD title: Can longitudinal assessment on its own, or with other measures, assess competency in undergraduate dentists?
Supervisors: Dr Kurt Naudi, Dr Andrea Sherriff, Dr Michael McEwan
email: Jamie.Dickie@glasgow.ac.uk  
Jamie Dickie
Jenny Eaves 
PhD title: Optimising delivery of the Childsmile nursery toothbrushing programme
Supervisors: Dr Andrea Sherriff, Dr Wendy Gnich, Dr Al Ross, Professor Lorna Macpherson
email: j.eaves.1@research.gla.ac.uk  
Jenny Eaves
Emma Fletcher
PhD Title: Optimising family toothbrushing behaviours in the home in early years in Scotland: developing and evaluating a community based intervention
Supervisors: Dr Andrea Sherriff, Dr Alastair Ross, Prof Lorna Macpherson
Email: e.fletcher.1@research.gla.ac.uk  
Emma Fletcher smiling to the camera in a set of graduation robes.
Kate Ingarfield 
PhD title: Inequality in the survival of patients with head and neck cancer
Supervisors: Prof David Conway and Dr Alex McMahon.
email: k.ingarfield.1@research.gla.ac.uk  
Kate Ingarfield
Aalia Karamat
PhD Title: Social prescribing in primary dental care to address inequalities to improve oral health od preschool children
Supervisors: Dr Alastair Ross, Dr Andrea Sherriff, Prof Lorna Macpherson, Prof David Conway
Email: 2343744k@student.gla.ac.uk
Aalia Karamat
Ahmed Mahmoud 
PhD title: Investigation of the role of ethnicity and socioeconomic factors in relation to dental health among children in Scotland.
Supervisors: Prof David Conway, Dr Alex McMahon, Prof Lorna Macpherson, Dr Hester Ward (Information Services Division)
email: a.mahmoud.1@research.gla.ac.uk  
Ahmed Mahmoud
Ryan Stewart 
PhD title:  Obesity and dental caries in childhood: a common risk factor approach to reducing sugar consumption through the Childsmile programme.
Supervisors:  Dr Andrea Sherriff, Prof David Conway, Prof Lorna Macpherson, Dr David Young, Dr Louise Kelly
email:  r.stewart.3@research.gla.ac.uk
Ryan Stewart

 

 


Oral Sciences Research Students and Staff

Research students

photo of Hassanain

Mr Hasanain Kahtan Abdulkhalik Alalwan
PhD student
h.alalwan.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Nanofabrication of denture materials


Mrs Sheeba Thomas
PhD student
s.thomas.3@research.gla.ac.uk
Feline tooth resorption


Chris Delaney

Mr Christopher Delaney
PhD student
c.delaney.1@research.gla.ac.uk
OMICS approaches to oral healthcare


 Tracy Shaw

Mrs Tracy Shaw
PhD student
t.shaw.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Commercialising complex biofilms of medical, industrial and environmental importance


Abeer - photo
Mrs Abeer Alghamdi
PhD student
a.alghamdi.4@research.gla.ac.uk
Cholinergic regulation of Candida albicans infections

 

Photo of Maria Tumelty

Dr Maria Tumelty
PhD student
maria.tumelty@glasgow.ac.uk
Granulomatous diseases of the oral cavity



Bryn
Mr Bryn Short
MSc student
2083506S@student.gla.ac.uk
Polymicrobial community survival mechanisms


 Laura Cameron - photo
Laura Cameron
PhD student
l.cameron.3@research.gla.ac.uk
Periodontal disease and systemic inflammation

 

Photo of Jason Brown

Jason Brown
PhD student
Jason.Brown@studentmailuwsac.onmicrosoft.com
Studying the immune response in periodontal disease


Research staff

photo of ranjith

Dr Ranjith Rajendran
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Ranjith.Rajendran@glasgow.ac.uk
Clinical outcomes of Candida albicans biofilm formation

 

 photo of Emma

Miss Emma Millhouse
Research Associate
emma.millhouse@glasgow.ac.uk 
Evaluating the immune responses to periodontal biofilms


Ryan Kean

Mr Ryan Kean
Research Technician
ryan.kean@glasgow.ac.uk
Understanding Candida biofilm heterogeneity