Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship programme is one of three Master’s programmes offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. They support students from developing commonwealth countries to study full-time in the United Kingdom on a postgraduate course.

Please see the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships website for more information.

To apply for these scholarships, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be available to start academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or a lower second-class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • Not have studied or worked for more than one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format.

Number of Scholarships


Eligible countries/regions

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia


The scholarship will cover the full tuition and a monthly stipend including air fares to and from the UK, grant a grant up cover thesis costs and study travel.

How to apply

Applicants need to first apply to the University of Glasgow for an eligible programme. To be considered for an award, applicants must hold an offer of a place at the University of Glasgow for September 2024. We would recommend applying well in advance of any programme application deadlines for this scholarship.

Applications for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for 2024/25 academic year are now open. The deadline for submitting an application is 16:00 GMT on Thursday 14 December 2023. 

Applications for this scholarship must be made using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's online application system.

Please see Commonwealth Scholarships website for details.

For more information contact: