Zoe Cuthbert

After graduating from the School...

In 2014 I graduated and knew that I wanted to have an impact in the world. I always had an interest in law and realised that studying a Master's which combined my environmental background with international governance was a useful starting point. I enrolled in a two-year LLM Master’s degree in International Law and Sustainable Development at the University of Strathclyde. This course attracted me due to the various modules on offer, including Global Water Policy, International Trading Systems and the opportunity to undertake a field dissertation. I spent three months in Sri Lanka researching the implementation of the human right to safe drinking water and sanitation, which culminated in my legal thesis and a published journal paper in Water International.

Following my graduation in 2016 from my LLM, I interned at WaterAid and then began working for the social enterprise Social Bite in Edinburgh. In December 2016 my team organised the first CEO Sleepout to drive awareness of Scotland’s homeless crisis and raised funds that were used to build The Social Bite Village. During my time at Social Bite, I also helped organise the Scottish Business Awards, welcoming Leonardo DiCaprio to deliver a keynote speech about climate change and the impending environmental crisis. I then worked for their sister social enterprise called Brewgooder, bringing clean water to communities in Malawi. After two years in Edinburgh, I moved to London to further their corporate social responsibility agenda.