STA Award for Dr Niamh Stack

Congratulations to Dr Niamh Stack for picking up the award for Outstanding Contribution to Teaching at this year’s Student Teaching Awards (STAs) ceremony on Thursday 22 March.

The event, organised by the Students’ Representative Council (SRC), is in recognition of staff who have gone above and beyond to enhance the student experience.

Niamh tweeted: ‘So this lovely thing happened tonight very proud to accept the award on behalf of the whole team @UofGPsychology academics, admin & students who together all make it work, thanks for a brilliant night’.

In all, five members of staff from the Institute of Neuroscience & Psychology and School of Psychology were nominated for awards:

  • Dr Jude Stevenson - Best Advisor of Studies
  • Dr Sara Sereno - Best Research Supervisor
  • Dr Rachael Jack - Best Dissertation Supervisor
  • Dr Niamh Stack - Outstanding Contribution to Teaching
  • Dr Lisa DeBruine - Best Online Learning Experience

Congratulations to Niamh and well done to all of our nominees. Keep up the good work!


STA 2018 Winners:

  • Best Advisor of Studies: Clare McFeely
  • Best College Teacher Arts Honourable Mention: Ann-Christine Simke
  • Best College Teacher Arts: Luis Gomez
  • Best College Teacher MVLS: Gawain Hammond
  • Best College Teacher Science and Engineering: John Williamson
  • Best College Teacher Social Sciences: Jill Robbie
  • Best Dissertation Supervisor: Emma Laurie
  • Best Research Supervisor: Martin Dixon
  • Best Postgraduate Tutor: Laurie Points
  • Best Student Representative: Suzy Whoriskey
  • Best Support Staff: Graham McClure
  • Highly Innovative Teaching Award: Ziad Al-Ani
  • Outstanding Contribution to Teaching: Niamh Stack

First published: 14 March 2018