Honours Homepage

The University chapelThe Philosophy Honours programme is a two-year programme of studies, comprising the Junior Honours and Senior Honours years, and is part of our four-year MA (Honours) degree. Junior and Senior Honours have separate curricula, and the final exam for each course takes place at the end of the second semester ('split finals'). Each course last one term and is worth 20 credits. Single Honours students take six per year (120 credits), three per term; Joint Honours students take three per year (60 credits), distributed as convenient. Each module is assessed by an essay (30%) and final exam (70%). Fortnightly tutorials in groups of around six are held for Junior Honours modules; Senior Honours modules have larger group seminars. The dissertation is a fourth-year module that is compulsory for single honours students and for joint honours students not doing a dissertation in their other subject.

Honours students have the option to spend their third year studying abroad. See the Study Philosophy Abroad section for more information.

Prospective Honours students might wish to consult the Honours courses overview page for a more detailed description of the courses on offer.

Details of the application procedure are available here.

For more information, contact the Junior Honours Convenor, Dr Chris Lindsay.

Essential honours information

You will find here:
- the most important dates and deadlines
- a who’s who for honours administrative roles

More essential information is available in the Honours Handbook - you should read this carefully.

Further announcements will be made on Moodle through the JH noticeboard (key: junior) and SH noticeboard (key: senior), and by e-mail to your University address. It is vital that you check your University e-mail account frequently, and that you sign up for the relevant Moodle pages, otherwise you may miss important information.

Dates and Deadlines

 Semester 1     
   Junior Honours enrolment: 14 September 2017, 11 am. James Watt South, Room 375 (J15)
   Senior Honours enrolment:  14 September 2017, 12 noon. James Watt South, Room 375 (J15)
   Week 1 (teaching starts):  18 September 2017
   Junior Honours reading party:  24 October - 26 October 2017 (tbc)
   Essay deadline:  21 November 2017
  Essay marks returned:  13 December 2017
   Teaching finishes:  1 December 2017
   Dissertation deadline:  15 December 2017
  Semester 2      
   Week 1 (teaching starts):  8 January 2018
   Senior Honours reading party:  13-15 February 2018 (tbc)
   Check MyCampus accuracy:  by end of Week 3 (2 February 2018) or risk exam clashes
   Essay deadline:  13 March 2018
  Essay marks returned:  4 April 2018
   Teaching finishes:  23 March 2018
   Dissertation deadline:  23 March 2018
   Exam diet:   late April to late May 2018 (tba)
   Dissertation proposal deadline: 15 June 2018

Honours Who's Who

Staff contact details are available on the Staff Page.

  • Head of Philosophy: Dr. Ben Colburn
  • Director of Teaching: Dr. Chris Lindsay
  • Honours Convenors: Dr. Chris Lindsay (JH) and Dr. Adam Rieger (SH)
  • Dissertation Convenor: David Bain
  • Study Abroad Convenor: Dr. Stephan Leuenberger (Semester 1) and Stephan Kraemer
  • Honours Exams Convenor: Dr. David Bain

Other Important Sources of Information