Midspan Committees

Midspan Committees

MIDSPAN Steering Committee

The MIDSPAN Steering Committee meets at least once per year. The membership comprises current and former principal investigators, as well as colleagues with significant interests in the MIDSPAN Study. Among other issues, the Steering Committee maintains an overview on matters concerned with ethics, confidentiality and research governance.


David Morrison (Chair)       Mike Lean  Richard Mitchell  
Andy Briggs  Gordon Lowe  Sandosh Padmanabhan  
Linda de Caestecker  Gerry McCartney  Jill Pell  
George Davey Smith              Alex McConnachie  Naveed Sattar  
Carole Hart John McMurray  Mark Upton  
Kate Hunt

 Charles McSharry

 Graham Watt  

The role of the Steering Committee is to review the overall activity, outputs and direction of the MIDSPAN study, bearing in mind the value of the collected data, samples and populations and the strategic importance of MIDSPAN findings for populations such the West of Scotland. A key feature of current arrangements is the large number of academic colleagues in other UK Universities, mostly making use of MIDSPAN data for desk analyses.

Continuing issues include:

  • Research governance and ethics
  • Making best use of available data, samples and populations
  • Dissemination of research findings
  • Feeding information back to participants and local populations 

We do not wish to lose contact with valued colleagues and for this reason the Steering Committee is divided into a main committee of active participants and a wider panel, whose members are welcome to attend meetings, but who normally just receive minutes for information.

MIDSPAN Management Group

The remit of the Group is to deal with day to day issues relating to the management and analysis of the data and samples. The group meets 3-4 times per year and reports to the Steering Committee. The membership comprises David Morrison (Chair), Carole Hart, Alex McConnachie.

MIDSPAN Samples Group

The Group is responsible for the use and safekeeping of the Midspan samples according to best practice and good science, subject to the support of the Midspan Steering Committee and the Local Research Ethics Committee. The group meets as occasion demands and reports to the Steering Committee. The membership comprises  Gordon Lowe, Sandosh Padmanabhan, Naveed Sattar, George Davey Smith, Graham Watt.