Graduation Celebrations

The School of Education was delighted to welcome family and friends of our 2 MPhil, 17 PhD and 8 EdD researchers who graduated with their degrees on Monday 28 June, 2021.  While we are sad that we cannot be face to face on Campus to share in these celebrations, we are nonetheless going to celebrate their great achievement through a virtual graduation ceremony. The ceremony included the traditional elements such as singing Gaudeamus Igitur and listening to the charge to the graduates by the Principal.

Education will continue to play an important role as we move through and out of the pandemic. Our researchers who are graduating today are well placed to contribute to this recovery, indeed some are already engaged in work that is making a tangible difference to society. 

The study and doctoral journey can be one that is full of twists and turns, but even more so when the pandemic struck. Dr Margaret Sutherland, Director of PGR said, “They have all worked extremely hard, sometimes in difficult circumstances, and we are very proud of all that they have achieved”.

To mark graduation, each graduate has had a Scots Pine tree planted in their honour. We are delighted to be able to support Trees for Life whose vision is of a revitalised wild forest in the Highlands of Scotland, providing space for wildlife to flourish and communities to thrive. Roots provide a firm foundation, and the planting of these trees symbolises the planting of their research roots here in Glasgow. We trust our graduates will go on to flourish and thrive in all that they do and that the roots they have planted as alumni will result in them always being part of #TeamUofG. We send our warmest congratulations to them all.


Eda Kocar

Noreen Phillips

Doctor in Education

Heather Cumming

Rika Kurata

Gary Lynch

Thomas Rogan

Joann Alexander

Francisco Valdera-Gill

Frangis Frangopoulos

Maarten van Houten

Doctor of Philosophy

Omar Alshehri

Abdhullah Awadh M Aljaber

Nouf Abdulrahman Almohide

Sean Duffy

Shuqi Rao

Emily-Marie Pacheco

Stephen Daniels

Adel Farag El Masri Boufarrag

Rui He

Faruk Dundar

Omran Alharbi

Angela de Britos

Julian Liu

Catrin Evans

Shushu Li

Elizabeth Dulemba
Sarah Cox



First published: 28 June 2021

<< News