Research Committee Members

Director of Dental Research (Chair) Prof David Conway 
Deputy Director of Dental Research (Vice-Chair)  Prof Shauna Culshaw
Community Oral Health Research Group Lead  Prof David Conway
 Oral Sciences Research Group Lead Prof Gordon Ramage
 Craniofacial Research Group Lead Prof Ashraf Ayoub
Director of Postgraduate Affairs Dr Andrea Sherriff
Research Impact Champion Dr Andrea Sherriff
Clinical Research Facility Clnical Lead Prof Shauna Culshaw
Clinical Research Governance Prof Shauna Culshaw
SoHRC Project Coordinator Ms Deirdre Kelliher
NHS Representative Mrs Beth Burns
Administrator - Research Ms Deirdre Kelliher

All PIs are welcome to attend. Those listed above obliged to report to the committee on their relevant area.


To coordinate regular (quarterly) dental school research workshops – involving Dental School PIs and PhD supervisors (and invited others).

These workshops will be the vehicle to develop and then implement the new Dental School Research Strategy (post REF 2021), and will include activities to foster collaborations within the school, with the wider University community and Research Institutes, and with NHS and industrial partners.

To ensure research governance procedures are adhered to, and will include liaising with NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde (GG&C) Oral Health Directorate (OHD) and Research & Development (R&D) in relation to clinical patient recruitment research.

To report to the Dental School Executive on issues related to supporting the implementation of the Research Strategy including on the research environment and infrastructure, and in relation to strategic appointments.

Meeting frequency

Three meetings per year