IIPF congress

 uni from afar

Taxation and Mobility


The congress will be held at the University of Glasgow's main campus, which is located at University Avenue, G12 8QQ. The campus is conveniently located in the west of the city and is a 5-minute walk from Hillhead Subway station.  

Plenary sessions: Will be held in Bute Hall
Parallel sessions: There are 15 seminar rooms
Board meetings: Will be held in room 305, main building
Lunch and coffee breaks: Will be set up in Hunter Halls

All the rooms are equipped with projectors and free Wi-Fi internet access.

Congress theme 

The congress theme is Taxation and Mobility. In line with this theme, the aim of the 2019 congress is to provide a venue for presenting and discussing cutting-edge research in public economics. As the IIPF Congress is one of the leading annual public economics event worldwide, we warmly welcome submissions in all areas of public economics.

In addition to plenary lectures by Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester and IFS), Nathaniel Hendren (Harvard University), Jonathan Portes (King's College London) and Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard University), there will be numerous papers that address a wide range of policy-relevant public finance issues using state-of-the art methods. The programme will feature scholars from around the world and promises to be both stimulating and informative.

Local Organising Committee


Céline Azémar (Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow)

Committee members

All from the University of Glasgow Adam Smith Business School:

Konstantinos Angelopoulos
Souvik Datta 
Emma Hutton
Jim Malley 
Hannah McShane
John Tsoukalas

Scientific Committee


Bas Jacobs (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands)
Daniel Waldenström (Paris School of Economics, France and IFN, Sweden)


David R. Agrawal (University of Kentucky, USA)
Spencer Bastani (Linnæus University, Sweden)
Felix Bierbrauer (University of Cologne, Germany)
Aart Gerritsen (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands)
Joshua D. Gottlieb (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Makoto Hasegawa (Kyoto University, Japan)
Marko Koethenbuerger (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Etienne Lehmann (CRED, Université Paris 2, France)
Erzo F.P. Luttmer (Dartmouth College, USA)
Linda Nøstbakken (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway)
Andreas Peichl (LMU Munich, Germany)
Paola Profeta (Bocconi University, Italy)
Andrea Repetto (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Chile) 
Nadine Riedel (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Dominik Sachs (LMU Munich, Germany)
Dirk Schindler (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway)
Kimberley Sharf (University of Birmingham, UK)
Ragnar Torvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
Binzhen Wu (Tsinghua University, China) 
Danny Yagan (UC Berkeley, USA)

About IIPF

The International Institute of Public Finance (IIPF) is the world organisation of public finance economists, comprising approximately 750 members from over 50 countries. In an increasingly specialised academic field, the IIPF seeks to generate intellectual interchanges among public finance experts.

The Institute’s annual congress is the main forum for its activities, which include organising academic events, promoting the exchange of knowledge between academics and practitioners of all nationalities, and awarding prizes for outstanding academic achievements.

The congress also provides an opportunity for the IIPF governing bodies to convene (Board of Management, General Assembly of Members). The IIPF is currently administered by an Executive Committee consisting of President Clemens Fuest (Ifo Institute and University of Munich, Germany) and two Vice Presidents: Katherine Cuff (McMaster University, Canada) and Wojciech Kopczuk (Columbia University, USA). The legal and administrative seat of the non-profit organisation IIPF is in Munich, Germany.

Kindly supported by: Scottish Government and Glasgow City Council